Pick Audible if
you want a huge catalog of new releases, or you listen on an Apple Watch, a Mac or an Alexa speaker.
Audible is a store you rent from. justRead is a player for files you own. Pick by where your books come from.
Try the whole app free for 14 days.
you want a huge catalog of new releases, or you listen on an Apple Watch, a Mac or an Alexa speaker.
you already own DRM-free audiobook files, or run an Audiobookshelf server. It cannot play protected Audible files.
Audible sells access to a catalog. justRead plays files.
What you keep depends on how you got each book.
Audible says books bought with cash or credits stay yours after you cancel.1
You pick one book a month. Cancel and those books lock. Rejoin to get them back.1
Premium members can add them. You keep them while you stay a member and the book stays listed.1
Plan credits expire after 12 months, or when you cancel. Credits from the App Store and extra credits do not expire.2
A DRM-free file is just a file. No membership decides if you can play it.
Yes or No only when a source says so. "Not stated" means we found nothing.
| What matters | ||
|---|---|---|
| Where the audio comes from | ||
| Where titles come fromStart here. | Your files and serversAudio files you add, and Audiobookshelf, Grimmory and BookOrbit servers.3 | Audible onlyA membership selection, a credit or a purchase.12 |
| Audio files you already ownWe did not test this. The cell shows what Audible wrote. | Yesm4b, m4a, mp3, aac and flac, plus .audiobook and .zab packages.3 | Not stated by the developerThe help article on listening in the app describes the Library and titles from Audible, and no way to add a file.4 |
| A folder of chapter files as one book | YesA folder of two or more loose mp3, m4a, aac, flac or m4b files becomes one audiobook.3 | Not stated by the developer4 |
| Your own audiobook server | YesAudiobookshelf, Grimmory and BookOrbit. Audiobookshelf books are downloaded first and played from the device.3 | Not stated by the developer45 |
| Audible's protected files (AAX or AAXC) | NoThere is no handling for protected Audible files.3 | Its own appLibrary titles play in the Audible app. The pages read state nothing about file formats or protection.46 |
| Playing a book | ||
| Chapter list | YesReads the chapters stored in an m4b and lists each with its length.3 | YesBrowse chapters is a listed player action.4 |
| Playback speed | 0.75x to 2.0xOne setting that carries from book to book.3 | AdjustableThe narration speed can be changed. The range is not stated.45 |
| Skip buttons | 5 to 60 secondsChosen separately for back and forward from 5, 10, 15, 30, 45 or 60 seconds. Defaults are 15 back and 30 forward.3 | AdjustableA player setting sets how many seconds you skip forward or back. The options are not stated.4 |
| Sleep timer | Yes5, 10, 15, 30, 45 and 60 minutes, plus End of Chapter.3 | YesA timer, with Shake to extend as a setting. The options are not stated.4 |
| Bookmarks | YesA bookmark shows the chapter title and the time into the chapter.3 | YesThe store description lists bookmarking favorite moments.5 |
| Backs up a little when you resume | YesAfter a pause the player backs up a few seconds, a little more the longer you were away.3 | Not stated by the developer45 |
| Keeps your place across devices | YesPlace and bookmarks sync through iCloud.3 | YesThe app syncs the listening position across devices, and a setting turns it off.4 |
| Listening history | YesStatistics has a Listening category with week, month, year and all-time ranges.3 | Listening logThe player lists a way to view your listening log.4 |
| Away from the screen | ||
| Lock screen controls | YesCover and chapter time, with next and previous chapter, scrubbing, speed and skip.3 | YesPlayback can be resumed from the lock screen controls.4 |
| CarPlay | YesAn Audiobooks tab and a Read Aloud tab.3 | YesThe store description lists hands-free playback with CarPlay.5 |
| Car mode on the phone | YesA full-screen, always-dark screen with four large tiles: Play and Pause, Skip Back, Skip Forward and Bookmark.3 | YesAutomatic Car Mode is a player setting.4 |
| Apple Watch | NoThere is no Apple Watch app.3 | YesThe store page and the devices article list it. They ask for watchOS 11.1 and 11.0.57 |
| Siri, Shortcuts and widgets | YesA Continue Listening shortcut for Siri and Shortcuts plays the book you heard last, and the Current Book widget has Play and Pause.3 | SiriThe store page shows Supports Siri. Widgets are not mentioned.5 |
| Offline listening | YesAudiobookshelf audiobooks are downloaded into the library and played from the device.3 | YesTitles are downloaded one at a time, with no bulk download option.56 |
| Devices | iPhone and iPadjustRead runs on iPhone and iPad only.3 | ManyiPhone, iPad, Mac and Apple Watch on the store page, and Android, Fire TV and Alexa-enabled devices in the help pages.145 |
| Text, ebooks and computer voices | ||
| Opens your ebooks | YesEPUB, PDF, CBZ and CBR books import next to audiobooks.3 | Kindle syncWhisperSync for Voice switches between a Kindle ebook and an Audible audiobook. No ebook files you add are named.5 |
| Text follows the narrationAudible's feature covers its own books. justRead's covers only EPUB 3 books with narration. | EPUB 3 onlyAn EPUB 3 book that ships synced audio gets a narration transport, and a tap in the text moves the voice there.3 | Immersion ReadingText highlights in real time while the narrator reads, and Page Sync jumps the audio to a page.5 |
| A computer voice reads your ebooks | YesRead Aloud with Apple, Kokoro and Supertonic voices.3 | Not stated by the developerThe pages read describe narrated titles and no computer voice.45 |
| What each costs | ||
| Free to try | 14 daysThe trial covers the whole app, then a paywall appears.3 | 30 daysA 30-day free trial, and a subscription is required after it.15 |
| PriceUS prices on 26 October 2026. They change by where you sign up. | $4.99 a monthOr $29.99 a year, or $79.99 once. No audiobook feature is charged apart from the rest.38 | $8.99 or $14.95 a monthStandard and Premium on the US membership page after the trial. The app lists the iOS Standard Plan at $9.99 and Premium Monthly at $15.99.15 |
| When the trial or membership ends | Blocking paywallAfter the 14-day trial a paywall appears that blocks the app until you subscribe or buy.3 | It dependsTitles bought with a credit or cash stay yours. Standard selections and Plus Catalog titles lock.1 |
| Rating in the US storeA count shows how many rated, not how good it is. | 4.6154 ratings.9 | 4.855,616,568 ratings.5 |
| Latest update | 19 Oct 2026Version 5.5.9 | 22 Oct 2026Version 4.80.1.5 |
| Minimum iOS | iOS 18.1iPhone and iPad.9 | iOS 18.1The store says 18.1 and the devices article says 18.0.57 |
US prices on 26 October 2026.
$8.99 a month after a 30-day trial. You pick one book a month.1
$14.95 a month after the trial. One credit a month buys any book. Annual is $149.50 for 12 books or $229.50 for 24.1
iOS Standard is $9.99, Premium Monthly $15.99, Plus Monthly $7.99 and the iOS Annual plan $159.99.5
$15.99 for one, $39.99 for three and $59.99 for five.5
justRead has no catalog. Add books from the Files picker, by drag and drop, or with Open in justRead.
justRead cannot play protected Audible files. That means AAX, AAXC and FairPlay audiobooks. We offer no way round it.
Audible has its own routes: its app, the Cloud Player in a browser, and AudibleSync on Windows. We give no steps for removing protection.
Six places where Audible is the better choice.
Its store lists 1M+ titles, plus Originals and a Kids Profile. justRead has no catalog. It has no built-in link to Libby, OverDrive, Hoopla or LibriVox.35
Audible has WhisperSync for Voice, Immersion Reading and Page Sync. justRead's covers only EPUB 3 books that ship synced audio.35
Audible lists Apple Watch. justRead has no Apple Watch app.357
It lists Android, Fire TV, Alexa devices and Mac. justRead is for iPhone and iPad.1345
justRead cannot play titles you bought from Audible. It has no handling for protected files.3
Audible shows 4.85 from 5,616,568 US ratings. justRead shows 4.61 from 54.59
Four places where justRead suits you better.
m4b, m4a, mp3, aac and flac, one file or a folder. Audible's help pages show no way to add your own.34
Audiobookshelf, Grimmory and BookOrbit. Audible's pages describe no link to a server you run.345
EPUB, PDF, CBZ and CBR sit next to your audiobooks. Read Aloud reads an ebook in Apple, Kokoro and Supertonic voices.35
After the 14-day trial you can pay $4.99 a month, $29.99 a year, or $79.99 once. No audiobook feature costs extra.38
Most people do not have to choose. Use each app for its own books. See the audiobook player page.
Each line comes from the vendor's own page. None is a ranking.
Credits never expire. Downloads are DRM-free, but the file type is not stated.10
Sells books one at a time, with no plan. You keep them.11
Borrow books free with a library card. justRead has no built-in link to Libby.312
Some Premium plans include audiobook time, 15 hours a month in the US.131415
Audiobooks and ebooks in one subscription, with one, three or five books a month.16
Nothing here deletes anything.
Cash or credit buys are yours to keep. Standard picks and Plus Catalog titles are not.1
Open Profile, Settings, Membership, then Details in the Audible app.2
Check the file type against justRead's list first. LibriVox files are public domain in the USA. Elsewhere, check the rules.31017
Add it to justRead, lock the screen and try the controls.3
Keep Audible until you have checked every book you care about.
Two lines in Audible's words, then three listener comments. They are examples, not a survey.
Any audiobooks you've purchased with cash or credits are yours to keep even after you cancel your membership. You lose access to titles from the Plus Catalog and to any audiobook selections you have made as an Audible Standard member.
Credits expire 12 months after they are issued, or upon membership cancellation. Only credits issued through the App Store or Google Play don't expire.
I was skeptical about listening to books but I absolutely LOVE every second of the books I’ve listened to. Gives me the chance to listen and get ready for work and drive to work.
I don’t understand why I’m paying for a premium plus membership when I only get one credit a month and still have to pay to listen to other books.
I tried Audible on iOS for a while and found the UX too annoying. I can't remember specifics but in general I remember it was annoying to use with AirPods while using my phone for other things.
Not straight from Audible. justRead has no handling for protected AAX or AAXC files. It plays DRM-free m4b, m4a, mp3, aac and flac files that you add.3
That changes by book. Books bought with cash or credits stay yours. Standard picks and Plus Catalog titles lock when you cancel.1
Yes. Plan credits expire 12 months after issue, or when you cancel. Credits from the App Store, and extra credits bought in the iOS app, do not expire.2
No. justRead has no built-in link to Libby, OverDrive, Hoopla or LibriVox. It plays files you add or download from Audiobookshelf.3
justRead.app makes justRead, so we hold this page to a stricter rule than a neutral roundup. Every justRead cell comes from the app's source code at the 5.5 release.
Audible's cells come from its US App Store listing, its membership page and its help pages, all re-read on 26 October 2026. Three help pages are built by script, so we read them in a browser.
"Not stated by the developer" means we found nothing either way and did not guess. A cell describes what the developer says, not how the app behaves for you.
We did not run Audible against files from outside its store, and we took no view on protection. We did not test the other services on this page. Their lines come from each vendor's own page, read the same day.
Audible's prices differ between its web page and the App Store, and both change.
The quotes are examples, not a survey. The reviews come from a sample of 800 written reviews (US, GB and DE) pulled on 23 October 2026.
Of those, 315 give one or two stars and 408 give four or five, and many rate the book rather than the app. We re-read each quoted review in Apple's feed on 26 October 2026. The forum comment is older.
Checked 26 October 2026 against justRead 5.5 and Audible 4.80.1.