Pick Yomu if
you want a low one-time price, Mobi and Kindle files or a Mac app.
Six iPhone readers in one table. Pick by price, formats, audio and how often the app is updated.
Try the whole app free for 14 days.
you want a low one-time price, Mobi and Kindle files or a Mac app.
you want open source, a free plan that syncs, and apps on desktop and Android.
you read DjVu, FB2 or RTF files and accept a release from 2019.
you want open source with WebDAV sync and AI on your own key.
you want one cloud library on web, iOS and Android, from $1.99 a month.
you want read aloud, audiobook files, goals and CarPlay in one app.
All six open your EPUB books on iPhone. They differ in price, formats, audio and upkeep.
Yomu, Readest and Anx Reader are lean readers. You can run Yomu on the Mac, and the other two are open source.
KyBook 3 opens DjVu, FB2 and RTF files, but you get a release from 2019. BookFusion is a cloud library with plans by the month.
justRead is for iPhone and iPad. If you want read aloud, audiobook files or goals, it adds them.
Pro drops the ads and the 10-document limit, and you get iCloud sync. The $12.99 Karma edition is identical.12
The Free plan gives you sync and 500 MB. Plus is $4.99 a month, Pro $9.99. Full Customization is a one-time $19.99.3
You pay $4.99 for Pro. Sync is a separate plan at $14.99 a year.4
A trial runs 7 days. Then a book will not open until you pay $4.99 once.567
Plans run $1.99, $4.99 and $9.99 a month. You get 10 books free. There is no one-time price.8
Choose $79.99 once, $29.99 yearly or $4.99 monthly. Family Sharing covers all three.910
Click a mark beside a cell and you see its source.
| What matters | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price and plans | ||||||
| Price | $79.99 onceYearly is $29.99, monthly $4.99. A 14-day trial comes first.910 | $7.99 onceA $12.99 Karma edition has identical features.1 | From $4.99 a monthPro is $9.99 a month. Full Customization is $19.99 once.3 | $4.99 onceSync is a separate $14.99 a year.4 | $4.99 onceOne in-app purchase, after a 7-day trial.56 | From $1.99 a monthAdvanced is $4.99, Power $9.99. The page calls these early adopter prices and lists no one-time purchase.8 |
| Free version | 14-day trialAfter the trial, the app asks for a purchase.10 | LimitedFree Yomu holds 10 documents, shows ads and has no iCloud sync.1 | Free planFree sync covers library, progress, highlights and notes, with 500 MB of cloud storage.3 | Free with purchasesThe app is free to install. Sync and the Pro features cost extra.411 | 7-day trialAfter the trial, a book will not open until you buy the full version.67 | 10 booksThe Free plan keeps 10 books in the cloud. Since 17 October 2026 the iPhone app also reads books on the device without an account.812 |
| Where it runs | ||||||
| Other platforms | NoneiPhone and iPad only.10 | MacYomu also runs on the Mac.13 | Desktop, Android, webmacOS, Windows, Linux, Android and the web.14 | None listedThe store listing says the app is not verified for macOS.4 | Android, Mac, WindowsThe README lists all three next to iOS.15 | Web and AndroidBookFusion reads on the web, iOS and Android.16 |
| Oldest iOS | iOS 18.1The app needs iOS 18.1 or later.10 | iOS 17.0The store listing says it requires iOS 17.0 or later.13 | iOS 16.4The store listing says it needs iOS 16.4 or later.17 | iOS 11.0The store listing says it needs iOS 11.0 or later.4 | iOS 15.2The store listing says it needs iOS 15.2 or later.5 | iOS 15.1The store listing says it requires iOS 15.1 or later.18 |
| Books and formats | ||||||
| EPUB and PDF | YesEPUB opens in the reader. PDF opens in PDFKit, where you can highlight selected text.10 | EPUB; basic PDFA PDF opens in a basic viewer with no text selection, highlights or search.192021 | YesThe README lists EPUB and PDF.14 | YesThe maker's site lists EPUB and PDF.11 | YesThe README lists both as fully supported.15 | YesThe apps page lists EPUB and PDF.16 |
| MOBI, AZW3, FB2 and TXT | NoThe import list holds none of the four.10 | Mobi and KindleOpens Mobi and Kindle files (AZW, AZW3, KF8) without DRM.21 | All fourThe README lists MOBI, KF8 (AZW3), FB2 and TXT.14 | All fourThe maker's site lists MOBI, AZW3, FB2 and TXT.11 | All fourThe code accepts epub, mobi, azw3, fb2, txt and pdf.7 | MOBI; the rest on the webMOBI opens in the app. AZW3, FB2 and TXT work only after a web upload.1618 |
| Comics | CBZ and CBRCBR files are converted to CBZ when you import them.10 | CBZ and CBRThe home page lists .cbz and .cbr.21 | CBZThe source's format table lists cbz and no cbr.22 | CBR, CBZ, CBTThe maker's site lists three comic formats.11 | NoThe code accepts six book extensions and none is a comic format.7 | CBZ and CBRThe apps page lists CBZ and CBR.16 |
| Listening and reading | ||||||
| Audiobook files | Plays filesPlays flac, aac, mp3, m4a and m4b with a chapter list and speeds from 0.75x to 2x.10 | Not stated by the developerThe store text and the home page list no audiobook player.2123 | Read-along, streamingIt pairs a narrated audiobook with an EPUB and streams from an Audiobookshelf server.2425 | MP3, M4A, M4BAudiobooks can also stream from cloud storage.11 | NoThe book import code accepts no audio file extension.7 | Not stated by the developerThe store text lists no audiobook format. Its audio feature is read-aloud of ebooks.26 |
| Read aloud | Apple and device voicesReads an EPUB aloud and highlights the sentence. PDFs are not read aloud.10 | Not stated by the developerThe store text, the home page and the release notes list no read-aloud feature.212327 | Cloud and device voicesEdge TTS sends each sentence to Microsoft. Apple's speech engine runs on the device.24 | Text to speechThe maker lists it. The help page names a bug that can stop speech after a word or sentence.1128 | YesBackends include the system voice, Azure, OpenAI and Aliyun, with speed, tone and a sleep timer.1529 | On every planBasic read-aloud uses Apple's voices. The pricing table lists streaming realistic voices for Advanced and Power.818 |
| Reading statistics and goals | Goals and streaksA Statistics tab with a heatmap, goals for each day, pages and the year, and a streak.10 | Not stated by the developerThe home page and the release notes list no goal or streak. A widget can show library statistics.2127 | Time and pagesIt logs reading time and pages read. Searches of its source find no goal, streak or heatmap.2530313233 | Not stated by the developerThe maker's site names no statistics or reading-goal feature.11 | Statistics, heatmapThe README lists reading statistics with a heatmap of reading habits.15 | StatisticsThe features page lists a Statistics feature.34 |
| Export notes | Markdown, PDF, ReadwiseHighlights export as Markdown or PDF, and go to Readwise when a book closes.10 | Text, Markdown, JSONA Shortcuts action also uploads highlights to Readwise.1335 | Readwise and NotionThe docs list Readwise export, Hardcover tracking, Pagebound and Notion export.25 | Markdown, HTML, PDF, RTFAnnotations export in four formats.11 | TXT, Markdown, CSVThe README lists notes export in three formats.15 | CSV, Markdown, HTML, PDFEvery plan exports highlights. Notion and Obsidian links are basic on Free and Casual.8 |
| Sync and library | ||||||
| Sync between devices | iCloudiCloud carries your position, bookmarks, highlights, finished books, covers, settings and fonts.10 | iCloud, Pro onlyBooks, annotations and progress sync through iCloud. It stays off until you switch it on for each device.2 | Readest CloudThe Free plan syncs library, progress, highlights and notes after you sign in to a Readest account.325 | Paid subscriptionSync costs $14.99 a year or $4.49 for three months.4 | WebDAVBooks, notes and progress sync through WebDAV. The iOS entitlements name no iCloud.1536 | BookFusion accountSigning in syncs books, progress and highlights. The Free plan covers 3 devices.812 |
| Calibre | Two-way syncImports from your Calibre server. Highlights, notes and bookmarks sync in both directions.10 | OPDS catalogConnects to a Calibre OPDS catalog and copies books in. Yomu offers no other sync.3738 | Manual pluginA Calibre plugin pushes picked books to the Readest cloud. Nothing uploads in the background.39 | OPDS catalogIt reads a Calibre content server as an OPDS catalog.11 | Community projectsThe README links two community Calibre projects and says they are not officially supported.15 | PluginThe BookFusion Calibre plugin works on every plan.818 |
| On the iPhone | ||||||
| Widgets | TenFive on the home screen, five on the lock screen, and a Control Center control.10 | YesSmall, medium and large widgets, and lock-screen widgets.2740 | OneA single static widget in three sizes, with no lock-screen widget.3941 | Not stated by the developerApple's description and the maker's site name no widget.1142 | NoThe iOS project holds one share extension and nothing for widgets.43 | Home screenThe apps page lists home-screen widgets. The store text names no lock-screen widget.1626 |
| Shortcuts and Siri | YesOffers App Intents to Shortcuts and Siri.10 | YesSiri shows your reading list. Shortcuts actions include a Readwise upload.3544 | NoA search of the source for AppIntent finds nothing.4546 | Not stated by the developerApple's description and the maker's site name neither.1142 | NoThe iOS project has no App Intents extension.43 | Not stated by the developerThe store text names no Siri or Shortcuts feature.26 |
| CarPlay | YesCarPlay lists justRead as an audio app for audiobooks and Read Aloud.10 | Not stated by the developerThe store text, the home page and the release notes name no CarPlay.212327 | EntitlementThe iOS entitlements list CarPlay audio.47 | Not stated by the developerApple's description and the maker's site name no CarPlay.1142 | NoThe iOS project names nothing for CarPlay.43 | YesThe realistic voices page says BookFusion works with Apple CarPlay.48 |
| Upkeep | ||||||
| Newest release | 5.6Listed on the App Store since October 2026.49 | 3.21.0Released on 22 October 2026.23 | 0.12.16The store page dates it to 14 October.17 | February 2019Apple's lookup record dates the newest release to 23 February 2019.42 | 1.14.0The store page dates it to 19 March. The maintainer wrote on 17 October 2026 that the project is active.550 | 17 October 2026The iOS 1.44.1 release post is dated 17 October 2026.12 |
Anx Reader and KyBook 3 Pro cost $4.99 once. Yomu Pro is $7.99. BookFusion has monthly and yearly plans only.1458
Yomu adds the Mac, so you can read there too. Readest and Anx Reader cover desktop and Android. BookFusion covers the web and Android.13141516
You can play them in justRead and KyBook 3. Readest pairs narrated audio with an EPUB and streams from Audiobookshelf.10112425
In the car, you get CarPlay with justRead and BookFusion. Readest lists the entitlement. Yomu and KyBook 3 name none.1023424748
Yomu, Readest, BookFusion and justRead shipped in October 2026. Anx Reader's store version is from March. KyBook 3's newest release is from 2019.51718234249
Readest lists Readwise and Notion export. BookFusion links Notion and Obsidian. With Yomu or justRead, you reach Readwise.8102535
Open a rival's page and you see every source.
Pro costs $7.99 once, and you can run it on the Mac. See the Yomu page.113
Run it on desktop, Android and the web. The code is open, so you can read it. See the Readest page.31451
It opens DjVu, FB2 and RTF and reads OPDS catalogs. Newest release: February 2019. See the KyBook 3 page.1142
MIT licensed, with WebDAV sync. The AI helper needs your own API key. See the Anx Reader page.155253
Web, iOS and Android apps come with monthly plans. The Free plan holds 10 books. See the BookFusion page.816
Five places where a rival beats justRead.
Yomu Pro is $7.99 once. Anx Reader and KyBook 3 Pro are $4.99. You pay $79.99 once for justRead.1459
Yomu runs on the Mac, and you can reach Android with Readest, Anx Reader or BookFusion. justRead does not leave iPhone and iPad.1013141516
Yomu, Readest, KyBook 3 and Anx Reader open Mobi or AZW3. justRead does not, so you must convert such books to EPUB first.710111421
You keep sync and 500 MB on Readest's Free plan, and every format within 10 documents on free Yomu. justRead has a 14-day trial.1310
Anx Reader syncs through WebDAV. justRead has no WebDAV sync, so you use iCloud, a KOReader server, Grimmory, BookOrbit or Calibre.1015
Five places where justRead leads.
Audiobook files play in justRead, and you hear an EPUB read aloud. Yomu lists no audiobook player, and Anx Reader's code accepts no audio file.7102123
Daily, pages and yearly goals come with a streak. Yomu and KyBook 3 list none. Searches of Readest's source find none.1011213032
On the road, justRead plays audiobooks and Read Aloud in CarPlay. Among the rivals, only BookFusion states CarPlay support.1048
justRead has ten widgets, a Control Center control, and Shortcuts and Siri actions. Readest has one widget, and you get none from Anx Reader.10414346
Notes, highlights and bookmarks travel both ways to your Calibre server. Yomu and KyBook 3 read Calibre as an OPDS catalog only.101137
Your books are files, so they move easily.
Yomu, BookFusion, KyBook 3 and Anx Reader all export highlights. Do it before you delete anything.8111315
Yomu copies every imported book, so your originals stay in Files or iCloud Drive. Keep them until you finish.3738
justRead opens none of these. Convert such books to EPUB in Calibre first.10
Share them to justRead from Files, or choose a folder in iCloud Drive. You can also connect Calibre.10
Add your audiobook files the same way. They play with a chapter list.10
Switch on iCloud sync, or connect Calibre or a KOReader sync server. Your place then follows you.10
Write down your place in each book first.
App Store reviews of each rival, quoted as written.
the free version works great, and the one time payment for the paid version is even better
TTS has natural voice, hard working developer that keeps up with latest trends!
app appears dead. Hasn’t been updated in years.
After the trial period it cannot be used at all.
The best part is the Obsidian plug-in, which imports all of your highlights in a neat fashion and is fully customizable.
justRead.app makes justRead. Every justRead cell comes from the app's source code at the 5.6 release.
The five rivals' cells come from each maker's own pages, release notes and US App Store listing, and from public source files where the app is open source. Each source was re-read on 28 October 2026.
"Not stated by the developer" means the store text and the maker's pages list nothing either way. It describes those pages, not the app.
We did not install any of these apps or test them on a device. Each line describes what a maker says or what a source file shows.
Anx Reader's cells describe store version 1.14.0. Its GitHub page lists newer beta releases.
KyBook 3's maker facts come from an Internet Archive copy of its site captured on 22 December 2024, because the live site did not answer.
Prices change. Readest's and BookFusion's come from their pricing pages, KyBook 3's and Anx Reader's from the US App Store, Yomu's from its help pages, and justRead's from its own site.
Checked 28 October 2026 against justRead 5.6, Yomu 3.21.0, Readest 0.12.16, KyBook 3 0.7.8, Anx Reader 1.14.0 and BookFusion 1.44.2.
A plain-text version of this page is at https://justread.app/en/compare/justread-vs-yomu-readest-kybook-3-anx-reader-bookfusion.md.