Features Why Us? Pricing FAQ Roadmap Blog Try Free for 14 Days

justRead vs Yomu: a one-time price and a Mac app, or read aloud and audiobooks

Yomu is a simple reader with a one-time $7.99 Pro, a Mac app and Mobi and Kindle files. justRead adds read aloud, audiobooks and goals, and is iPhone and iPad only.

Try the whole app free for 14 days.

justRead app icon justRead.app Reader for books, comics and audiobooks
Yomu app icon Yomu Independent ebook reader for iPhone, iPad and Mac

Which should you pick?

Yomu app icon

Pick Yomu if

you want the lowest one-time price, a Mac app, or Mobi and Kindle files. Free Yomu holds 10 documents and shows ads; Pro is $7.99 once.

justRead app icon

Pick justRead.app if

you want read aloud, audiobooks, reading goals, PDFs you can highlight, or two-way Calibre sync. It costs more: $79.99 once, after a 14-day trial.

Get justRead on the App Store

A simple reader, or a reader with audio and goals

Both are iOS ebook readers with folders, widgets and iCloud sync. They differ in price and in how much sits around the book.

Yomu is an independent reader for iPhone, iPad and Mac. It opens Mobi and Kindle files as well as EPUB, PDF and comics. The maker calls it an alternative to Stanza, Marvin and KyBook.

justRead runs on iPhone and iPad only. It reads books aloud, plays audiobooks, tracks goals and streaks, and syncs with Calibre as well as iCloud.

Yomu is free to try. iCloud sync, more than ten books and no ads need the one-time Pro purchase.

What each app costs

Yomu is the cheaper app, and its free version is real but limited.

Yomu Pro: $7.99 once

Yomu Pro is a one-time purchase, not a subscription, and it works on iPhone, iPad and Mac. A Karma edition costs $12.99 and has exactly the same features.1

What free Yomu limits

Free Yomu keeps every format, theme and setting. It holds 10 documents, shows ads and has no iCloud sync. Pro removes all three.12

justRead: free for 14 days, then paid

justRead costs $4.99 a month, $29.99 a year or $79.99 once, after a 14-day trial. That is more than Yomu Pro's $7.99.134

Both work with Family Sharing

With Family Sharing, up to six family members can use Yomu. justRead's subscription and lifetime purchase support Family Sharing too.14

justRead and Yomu, row by row

A Yes or No always has a source. Click a mark to see it.

justRead and Yomu, row by row
What matters justRead.app Yomu
Price and plans
Price after the trialWhat you pay once the trial is over $79.99 onceA 14-day trial, then $4.99 a month, $29.99 a year or $79.99 once.34 $7.99 onceYomu Pro is a one-time purchase. A Karma edition costs $12.99 and has the same features.1
Free version 14-day trialAfter it, a paywall.4 LimitedFree Yomu has every format, theme and setting, but holds 10 documents, shows ads and has no iCloud sync.1
Family Sharing YesCovers the subscription and the lifetime purchase.4 YesUp to six family members can use the app.1
Where it runs
iPhone and iPad Yes4 Yes5
Mac NoiPhone and iPad only. Mac Catalyst and Designed for iPad on Mac are switched off.4 YesThe store listing and the Pro FAQ cover iPhone, iPad and Mac.15
Books and formats
EPUB Yes4 Yes6
Mobi and Kindle filesAZW, AZW3 and KF8 NoThe import list holds no MOBI or AZW3 entry.4 YesOpens Mobi (.mobi, .prc) and Kindle (.azw, .azw3, .kf8) files without DRM.6
PDF YesOpens through PDFKit, and you can highlight a selection.4 Basic viewerNo text selection, highlights or search in a PDF.78
Comics (CBZ and CBR) YesCBZ opens as a fixed-layout reader. CBR is repacked into CBZ on import.4 YesThe home page lists .cbz and .cbr.6
Audiobooks YesPlays m4b, m4a, mp3, aac and flac with a chapter list and speeds from 0.75x to 2x.4 Not stated by the developerThe store text and the home page list no audiobook player.69
Reading
Annotations and search YesHighlights and notes in EPUB and PDF.4 EPUB, Mobi, KindleText selection, notes and search work for EPUB, Mobi and Kindle files only. Pro does not change that.1
Read aloud YesApple voices read an EPUB aloud and highlight the sentence. Two sets of downloadable voices run on the device. PDFs are not read aloud.4 Not stated by the developerThe store text, the home page and the release notes list no read-aloud feature. The accessibility page says the reader uses WebKit, which supports text to speech as far as Apple and the book allow.691011
Goals and streaks YesA daily goal, a pages goal, a yearly books goal and a streak. A Statistics tab with a goal calendar heatmap.4 Not stated by the developerThe home page and the release notes list no reading goal, streak or heatmap. A widget from version 2.1.0 shows library statistics.610
Page curl YesAn Apple Books style page curl for paginated EPUB, switched on in settings.4 Not stated by the developerThe guide and the release notes name no page curl.10
Translate a selection YesApple's on-device Translation.4 YesThrough the system translation menu on iOS 18.10
AI help On the deviceExplain, Who's This and Catch Me Up run with Apple Intelligence. They need iOS 26 and a device where it is switched on.4 Notes onlyApple Intelligence Writing Tools can proofread and rewrite the text of annotation notes.10
Dictionary and lookup YesA dictionary sheet with an extra Wikipedia source.4 YesThe Lookup menu opens Wikipedia, Google Translate, DeepL or any other service.10
Export notes Markdown, PDF, ReadwiseMarkdown and PDF files, and Readwise, automatically when a book closes.4 Text, Markdown, JSONBooks and annotations export in text, markdown or JSON. A Shortcuts action uploads highlights to Readwise.512
Library and sync
iCloud sync YesPosition, bookmarks, highlights, finished state, covers, settings and fonts.4 Pro onlyBooks, annotations, folders, tags and reading progress. Off until you switch it on for each device.2
Sync with a server you run YesSyncs with Calibre, a KOReader sync server, Grimmory and BookOrbit.4 NoThe only sync Yomu offers is the Pro iCloud library. Other ways to sync books or progress are not supported.13
OPDS catalogs YesProject Gutenberg is built in, and books download from any OPDS catalog.4 YesConnects to Calibre, Calibre-Web Automated, Grimmory, Kavita and Komga. Downloaded books are copied into Yomu.14
Dropbox NoNo Dropbox, Google Drive or OneDrive connector. They show up only as folders in the Files app.4 YesDropbox has its own link. Google Drive, OneDrive and Nextcloud come through the Files app.14
On the iPhone
Widgets YesFive home-screen widgets and five lock-screen widgets.4 YesRecent books or highlighted quotes in small, medium and large sizes, and lock-screen widgets.1015
Control Center YesA control that continues the last book.4 YesA Control Center and lock-screen control opens the current book on iOS 18.1.10
Shortcuts and Siri YesExposes App Intents for Shortcuts and Siri.4 YesSiri shows your reading list. Shortcuts actions include a Readwise upload.1216
Privacy
Personal data NoneUses no analytics, and has no analytics framework in the app.4 Not collectedThe store description says Yomu does not collect or sell personal information.5

Every Yomu cell was re-read on 28 October 2026.

What justRead plays and reads aloud

Yomu lists no player and no read-aloud feature. justRead has both.

justRead plays audiobooks from your own files, with a chapter list, speeds from 0.75x to 2x and a Car Mode. It also reads EPUBs aloud with Apple voices or with voices that run on the device.

Two iPhones showing justRead. On the left, an audiobook player for Treasure Island with a chapter scrubber and a toolbar. On the right, Car Mode with large Play, back 15 and forward 30 buttons and a Bookmark button.
The justRead player and Car Mode, playing a public-domain audiobook.

Where Yomu is the better pick

Five places where Yomu is better.

It costs less

Yomu Pro is $7.99 once, or $12.99 for the Karma edition with the same features. justRead's lifetime price is $79.99.13

A free version that stays free

Free Yomu keeps every format, theme and setting. The limits are 10 documents, ads and no iCloud sync. justRead's free period is a 14-day trial.14

A Mac app

Yomu runs on iPhone, iPad and Mac. justRead is iPhone and iPad only.45

Mobi and Kindle files

Yomu opens Mobi, AZW and AZW3 files. justRead has no import for MOBI or AZW3.46

A Dropbox link

Dropbox has its own link in Yomu. justRead has no Dropbox connector, so Dropbox appears only as a folder in the Files app.414

Where justRead is the better pick

Six places where justRead is better.

Read aloud

Apple voices read an EPUB aloud and highlight the sentence, and two sets of voices run on the device. Yomu's store text, home page and release notes list no read-aloud feature.46910

Audiobooks

m4b, m4a, mp3, aac and flac files play with a chapter list and speeds from 0.75x to 2x. Yomu lists no audiobook player.469

Goals and streaks

A daily goal, a pages goal, a yearly books goal and a streak that forgives one missed day a month. Yomu's home page and release notes list no reading goal or streak.4610

PDFs you can mark up

Highlight a selection in a PDF the way you do in an EPUB. Yomu's PDF support is a basic viewer with no text selection, highlights or search.478

Sync with your own server

Highlights, notes and bookmarks sync both ways with a Calibre server, and KOReader, Grimmory and BookOrbit servers connect too. Yomu's only sync is its Pro iCloud library.413

An assistant that stays on the device

Explain, Who's This and Catch Me Up run with Apple Intelligence, and nothing you read leaves the device. They need iOS 26 and a device where it is on. Yomu's Apple Intelligence support is Writing Tools on annotation notes.410

How to move from Yomu to justRead

Yomu keeps its own copy of every book it imports, so the files you imported from are still where they were.

  1. Export what you want to keep

    Yomu exports books and annotations as text, markdown or JSON. Do that for the books you marked up.514

  2. Convert Mobi and Kindle files

    justRead does not open MOBI or AZW3 files. Convert them to EPUB first, for example with Calibre.46

  3. Add the books to justRead

    Open them from the Files app, point justRead at a folder in iCloud Drive, or drop them onto the iPad. justRead can read a book in place from a folder you chose, without copying it.4

  4. Reconnect your catalogs

    Yomu connects to OPDS catalogs such as Calibre, Kavita and Komga. Add the same catalog in justRead, or connect to Calibre directly to sync highlights both ways.414

  5. Try it before you pay

    The app starts with a 14-day free trial, so you can test it on your own books first.4

Note the page you are on in each book first, because reading positions stay inside the app that made them.

What Yomu's users say

Five App Store reviews from the US store, quoted as written. Three praise Yomu and two name a limit.

Yomu is that reader. It respects the reader with a clean interface and avoids bloat.

App Store review, 5 stars, version 3.21.0, US, 22 October 202617

the free version works great, and the one time payment for the paid version is even better

App Store review, 5 stars, version 3.20.0, US, 4 October 202617

it definitely filled in the hole that Marvin3 left after it stopped getting updates

App Store review, 4 stars, version 3.19.0, US, 11 September 202617

I do wish there was some ability to select text in OCR enabled PDFs for the sake of word lookup

App Store review, 4 stars, version 3.14.2, US, 4 January 202617

If you’ve synced to iCloud, those books can only be read in Yomu

App Store review, 1 star, version 3.20.0, US, 20 October 202617

Yomu questions

Is Yomu free?

Yomu is free to try and is listed as Free with in-app purchases. The free version has every format, theme and setting, but holds 10 documents, shows ads and has no iCloud sync. Yomu Pro, a one-time purchase at $7.99, removes those limits.15

Is Yomu a subscription?

No. Yomu Pro is a one-time purchase, and it works on iPhone, iPad and Mac. A Karma edition costs $12.99 and has the same features.1

Does Yomu sync with iCloud?

Yes, in Yomu Pro only. The iCloud library covers books, annotations, folders, tags and reading progress, and you switch it on separately on each device. The maker says reading-position sync can take minutes and is unreliable on some devices. It is the only sync Yomu offers.213

Does Yomu have text to speech or read aloud?

Its store text, home page and release notes list no read-aloud feature. The accessibility page says the reader uses WebKit, which supports text to speech as far as Apple and the book allow.691011

Can Yomu highlight text in a PDF?

No. Text selection, annotations and search work for EPUB, Mobi and Kindle files only, and the maker says Pro does not change that. PDF support is a basic viewer.178

Does Yomu work on Mac?

Yes. Yomu runs on iPhone, iPad and Mac, and one Pro purchase covers all three. justRead is iPhone and iPad only.145

Does Yomu have widgets?

Yes. Home-screen widgets show recent books or highlighted quotes in small, medium and large sizes, and lock-screen widgets show recent or latest books. A Control Center control opens the current book on iOS 18.1.1015

Does Yomu work with Calibre?

Yomu connects to OPDS catalogs, including Calibre, Calibre-Web Automated, Grimmory, Kavita and Komga. Books you download are copied into Yomu. justRead also syncs highlights, notes and bookmarks both ways with a Calibre server.414

Is Yomu a Marvin alternative?

The maker positions Yomu as an alternative to Stanza, Marvin and KyBook.18

Is justRead a good Yomu alternative?

If you read on iPhone and iPad and want read aloud, audiobooks, reading goals or Calibre sync, yes. If you also read on a Mac, or want the lower one-time price, Yomu is the one to keep.145

Other readers worth a look

If neither app fits, these four have a page of their own.

Readest: free sync on desktop and phone

Readest is open source, and its Free plan syncs library, progress, highlights and notes across devices. It runs on macOS, Windows, Linux, Android, iOS and the web. See justRead vs Readest.192021

KyBook 3: DjVu, FB2 and RTF files

KyBook 3 opens DjVu, FB2, RTF and CBT comics as well as EPUB and PDF, and it needs only iOS 11.0 or later. Its newest release is dated 23 February 2019. See justRead vs KyBook 3.222324

Anx Reader: open source with AI on your own key

Anx Reader is MIT licensed, syncs through WebDAV and runs on Android, iOS, macOS and Windows. Its AI assistant needs your own API key. See justRead vs Anx Reader.252627

BookFusion: one library on web, iOS and Android

BookFusion reads on the web, iOS and Android, and has an E Ink mode for Android tablets. Plans start at $1.99 a month and the pricing page shows no one-time purchase. See justRead vs BookFusion.2829

Sources and how we checked

29 sources

justRead.app makes justRead. Every justRead cell comes from the app's source code at the 5.6 release.

Yomu's cells come from the maker's help pages, release notes and pricing FAQ at yomu-reader.com and from its US App Store listing, all re-read on 28 October 2026. The app version is 3.21.0.

"Not stated by the developer" means the store text, the home page and the release notes list nothing on the point. We did not guess.

We did not install Yomu or test it on a device. Its lines describe what the maker says, not how the app behaves for you.

Prices change. Yomu's come from the maker's own pricing page, justRead's from its own site.

The reviews come from the US App Store feed and are quoted as written.

Checked 28 October 2026 against justRead 5.6 and Yomu 3.21.0.

  1. Yomu help: what the free version and Yomu Pro include, and what they cost. yomu-reader.com accessed 2026-10-28
  2. Yomu help: how the iCloud Cloud Library works and where it can fail. yomu-reader.com accessed 2026-10-28
  3. justRead pricing and trial, from the justRead site. justread.app accessed 2026-10-28
  4. justRead 5.6 app behavior, read from the app's source code at the release build (our own review). accessed 2026-10-28
  5. Yomu, App Store listing (US): price line, platforms, library and export features. apps.apple.com accessed 2026-10-28
  6. Yomu home page: formats, reader and library features. yomu-reader.com accessed 2026-10-28
  7. Yomu help: general questions, including PDF support. yomu-reader.com accessed 2026-10-28
  8. Yomu help: reader questions, including PDF text selection. yomu-reader.com accessed 2026-10-28
  9. Yomu, App Store description text (US lookup data), searched for read-aloud and audiobook features. itunes.apple.com accessed 2026-10-28
  10. Yomu release notes (current version 3.21.0). yomu-reader.com accessed 2026-10-28
  11. Yomu help: accessibility. yomu-reader.com accessed 2026-10-28
  12. Yomu help: Shortcuts actions. yomu-reader.com accessed 2026-10-28
  13. Yomu help: library questions, including which sync is offered. yomu-reader.com accessed 2026-10-28
  14. Yomu help: importing books, OPDS catalogs and cloud folders. yomu-reader.com accessed 2026-10-28
  15. Yomu guide: widgets. yomu-reader.com accessed 2026-10-28
  16. Yomu help: Siri. yomu-reader.com accessed 2026-10-28
  17. Yomu, App Store reviews (US storefront), quoted as written. apps.apple.com accessed 2026-10-28
  18. Yomu about page. yomu-reader.com accessed 2026-10-28
  19. Readest pricing page: what the Free plan includes. readest.com accessed 2026-10-28
  20. Readest README at the v0.12.16 tag: platforms. raw.githubusercontent.com accessed 2026-10-28
  21. Readest licence file at v0.12.16. raw.githubusercontent.com accessed 2026-10-28
  22. The KyBook maker's site, Internet Archive copy (captured 22 December 2024): formats. web.archive.org accessed 2026-10-28
  23. KyBook 3, App Store listing (US): minimum iOS. apps.apple.com accessed 2026-10-28
  24. Apple's lookup record for KyBook 3: release date. itunes.apple.com accessed 2026-10-28
  25. Anx Reader licence file at the v1.14.0 tag. raw.githubusercontent.com accessed 2026-10-28
  26. Anx Reader README at the v1.14.0 tag: sync and platforms. raw.githubusercontent.com accessed 2026-10-28
  27. Apple's lookup record for Anx Reader: the AI key note. itunes.apple.com accessed 2026-10-28
  28. BookFusion, reading apps page: platforms and E Ink mode. bookfusion.com accessed 2026-10-28
  29. BookFusion pricing page: plan prices. bookfusion.com accessed 2026-10-28

A plain-text version of this page is at https://justread.app/en/compare/justread-vs-yomu.md.

Try it on your own books

Add your books and audiobooks and try read aloud. The app starts with a 14-day free trial.