Pick Absorb if
you want a free, open-source app that streams or downloads, with no ads.
No single app fits everyone. Pick by streaming, podcasts, Apple Watch, other servers and price.
Try the whole app free for 14 days.
you want a free, open-source app that streams or downloads, with no ads.
you want an Apple Watch app, CarPlay and several servers in a free app.
you also play audiobook files from your phone, in the same app.
you also run Jellyfin or Emby. Downloads cost $4.99 once or $1.99 a year.
you use Plex too and want one library for both.
you run many servers and will pay a subscription to listen offline.
you want an Apple Watch app, CarPlay, podcasts and an ebook reader, with playback free.
you want OpenID sign-in, an Up Next queue and an ebook reader in a free app.
you want audiobooks, ebooks and comics in one library, and your iPhone cannot run iOS 26.
Audiobookshelf is a free, open-source server for books and podcasts. Its own iPhone app is still a beta.
The project's README, read on 26 October 2026, says the TestFlight beta is full.
So independent apps filled the gap. This page compares nine of them:
Yes or No only when a source says so. "Not stated" means we found nothing.
| What matters | |||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Servers and sign-in | |||||||||
| Servers it connects to | AudiobookshelfSingle-file audiobooks also come from OPDS catalogs and Calibre content servers.1 | AudiobookshelfSeveral servers at once.2 | AudiobookshelfAn Audiobookshelf account is required.3 | Audiobookshelf, Jellyfin, EmbyOnly works with a Jellyfin or Audiobookshelf server.45 | Audiobookshelf, PlexBoth appear in one library.67 | AudiobookshelfA pure Audiobookshelf integration.8 | AudiobookshelfNeeds a self-hosted server.9 | AudiobookshelfNeeds a self-hosted server.10 | Audiobookshelf, JellyfinAdded in version 6.0. Local files work too.1112 |
| Single sign-on | YesThrough the server's OpenID provider.1 | YesOpenID and custom HTTP headers.2 | YesOpenID with Authelia, Authentik or Keycloak.13 | YesThe 1.1.5 release notes add support for SSO with Audiobookshelf.4 | YesThe release notes mention an OpenID sign-in fix.6 | Not stated by the developer8 | YesOIDC/SSO login with OpenID Connect, says the README.14 | YesOIDC and custom HTTP headers.10 | YesThe release notes add signing in to Audiobookshelf with your server's SSO provider.11 |
| Podcasts from the same server | NoPodcast libraries are left out. Only book libraries are listed.1 | YesAudiobooks and podcasts in one app.2 | YesAuto-download, rules per show, transcripts.13 | YesPodcast support with Audiobookshelf.4 | Not stated by the developerThe pages describe audiobooks only.67 | YesThe release notes list Podcast Auto-Queue, which adds newly published episodes.8 | YesCalled an audiobook and podcast player.9 | YesEpisode lists with Add All to Queue.10 | Not stated by the developer1112 |
| Streaming and files | |||||||||
| Streams from the serverMost store pages never name streaming. A gap means we cannot tell, not that the app cannot. | NoIt downloads the book and plays the copy.1 | Not stated by the developerThe listing never uses the word stream.2 | Not stated by the developerThe site never uses the word stream.13 | YesThe release notes mention switching to the streaming API endpoint in Audiobookshelf and a fix for streaming downloaded books.4 | YesThe release notes list streaming reliability work and, for the Watch, streaming the book you are reading.15 | YesThe release notes list a better multi-file and streaming experience.8 | Yes"Stream or download books for offline listening."9 | YesThe 1.3.5 notes say the Watch app can stream, download and control audiobooks and podcasts.10 | YesThe 6.0.1 notes: you can now stream from your servers.11 |
| Downloads for offline listening | YesBackground transfers. The account's download permission is respected.1 | Yes, PremiumOffline listening is part of the subscription.2 | Yes, freeManual and Smart Downloads cost nothing.13 | Yes, paid unlockDownloads sit behind an in-app purchase.4 | YesOn the watch it needs a separate purchase.6 | YesListed.8 | YesDownload or stream.9 | YesListed.10 | YesListed in the README.12 |
| Files that are not on a server | YesFiles picker, drag and drop, Open in justRead, library folder.1 | Not stated by the developer2 | Not stated by the developer313 | No"Only works in connection with" a server.4 | Not stated by the developerImports EPUB or PDF to read along, not audio.6 | Not stated by the developer8 | Not stated by the developer9 | Not stated by the developer10 | YesAirDrop, Files, iTunes sharing, Wi-Fi transfer, zip.1112 |
| Ebooks in the same app | YesEPUB, PDF, CBZ and CBR in one library. Audio and ebook copies are linked.1 | PDF viewer onlyNo ebook reader is described.2 | YesReader with Read Along.313 | Not stated by the developerThe release notes say plappa no longer indexes ebooks without audio.45 | YesEPUB or PDF, with read along.6 | YesEPUB and PDF. Version 1.13 adds EPUB 3 narration.8 | YesBuilt-in reader, offline.9 | YesEPUB, PDF and CBZ, with highlights.10 | Not stated by the developerDescribed as an audiobook player.11 |
| Playback | |||||||||
| Playback speedNo range means the developer gave none. justRead plays 0.75x to 2.0x, SoundLeaf and Absorb state 5x. | 0.75x to 2.0xOne setting for every book.1 | Yes, PremiumRange not stated.2 | Up to 5xSeparate speed per podcast.13 | YesThe release notes say the remaining time follows the playback speed. The range is not stated.4 | YesSaved per book. Range not stated.67 | YesRange not stated.8 | Up to 5xStated in the release notes.9 | YesRange not stated.10 | YesRange not stated.11 |
| Sleep timer | Yes5 to 60 minutes, or End of Chapter.1 | Yes, PremiumDefault 5 minutes. Other lengths are Premium.2 | YesNight timer with fade out.13 | YesThe release notes say Shake to extend sleep timer works when the device is locked.4 | YesBy time or by chapter.67 | YesWith fade out.8 | YesListed.9 | YesListed.10 | YesListed.11 |
| Chapters | YesReads an m4b's embedded chapter list.1 | YesQuick-access controls.2 | YesAlso from CarPlay.13 | YesEmbedded chapters are shown.5 | YesThe sleep timer works by time or by chapter, and the release notes mention chapter navigation in CarPlay.715 | YesListed.8 | YesListed.9 | YesThe release notes describe a chapter list and intro and outro chapter skipping.10 | YesListed.11 |
| Volume boost or equalizer | NoNo voice boost, loudness normalization or equalizer.1 | Not stated by the developer2 | Voice boostNo equalizer is described.13 | Not stated by the developer45 | YesVoice Boost and an equalizer.67 | EqualizerVersion 1.13 adds a 6 kHz band.8 | YesLoudness boost in the notes, equalizer in the README.914 | Volume boostListed.10 | Volume boostListed.1112 |
Answer these, then check the next table.
Six apps mention streaming. justRead only downloads. Two more do not say, so test them yourself.1489101115
Six apps list podcasts. justRead leaves them out. The table shows which.124891013
You can get one on six apps. Prologue charges $4.99 for it. justRead has none.1468101113
Three apps also reach Plex, Jellyfin or Emby. The rest reach your server and nothing else.4611
Six apps let you read ebooks too, justRead among them.16891013
Absorb, AudioBooth and Still are free. ShelfPlayer charges to play offline. justRead is paid after 14 days.128910
Where each app runs, what it costs and how current it is.
| What matters | |||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Car, wrist and phone | |||||||||
| CarPlay | YesAudiobooks and Read Aloud tabs, speed button, chapter list.1 | YesListed.2 | YesContinue Listening, cover art, chapters.13 | YesThe release notes add a chapter list to the CarPlay interface.4 | YesThe store description names CarPlay, and the release notes mention enhanced chapter navigation there.615 | YesFull integration. Version 1.13 adds a Library tab.8 | YesListed.9 | YesListed.10 | YesListed.11 |
| Apple Watch app | NojustRead runs on iPhone and iPad.1 | Not stated by the developerThe device list has no Apple Watch.2 | YesListen without the phone. Needs watchOS 11.313 | YesThe store lists Apple Watch. The 1.5.1 release notes say "Added (beta) Apple Watch support", and a 1.5.5 fix covers setup on the Watch.4 | Yes, extra purchaseWatch downloads need a separate $4.99 purchase.6 | YesControls playback. Version 1.13 can send a book to the watch.8 | Not stated by the developer914 | YesThe store lists Apple Watch, and the 1.3.5 notes describe Watch support in beta.10 | YesStand-alone playback is part of BookPlayer Pro.1112 |
| Home Screen widgets | YesA Current Book widget with Play and Pause.1 | YesAlso Live Activities and Dynamic Island.2 | YesAlso a Listening card.13 | Not stated by the developer45 | YesListed.6 | YesThe release notes list Stats widgets and a Lock Screen widget.8 | YesListed.9 | YesListed.10 | YesA Recents widget in the 6.0.1 notes.11 |
| Siri and Shortcuts | YesContinue Listening plays your most recent book.1 | YesSiri, Shortcuts and Spotlight.2 | YesSiri and the Action Button.313 | ShortcutsThe release notes add support for shortcuts. Siri is not mentioned, and a Siri request is open.416 | YesListed.6 | YesThe release notes list Siri support to play a downloaded book or resume the current one.8 | Not stated by the developer9 | YesThe store page shows Supports Siri, and the release notes add shortcuts to add a bookmark and continue a book.10 | YesThe store page shows Supports Siri, and the 5.21.1 notes add asking Siri to play a book or making a shortcut for one.11 |
| Listening statistics | YesWeek, month, year and all-time ranges.1 | YesHistory and daily goals.2 | YesOn the feature list.3 | Not stated by the developer45 | YesStats and streaks.7 | YesThe release notes list a stats page and stats widgets.8 | YesStats and streaks.9 | YesThe 1.5.1 notes add listening statistics and a calendar.10 | Not stated by the developer1112 |
| Price | |||||||||
| Price in the US storeUS App Store prices on 26 October 2026. They change. | Paid after a trial14 days free, then $4.99 a month, $29.99 a year or $79.99 once.17 | Free, then subscriptionWeekly $2.99 or yearly $29.99.2 | FreePro is $9.99 once. Supporter is $0.99 a month or $9.99 a year.1318 | Free, then unlock$4.99 once, or $1.99 a year.4 | Free, then unlockPremium $9.99 once. Family $17.99. Tips $0.99 to $5.99.6 | FreeA $0.99 Supporter entry and tips up to $9.99.8 | FreeNo ads or subscriptions. GPL 3.0 code.914 | FreeOne optional $9.99 Supporter purchase.10 | Free; Pro is paidPro is $4.99 a month or $49.99 a year. GPL 3.0 code.1112 |
| What the paid part covers | The whole appA blocking paywall follows the trial.1 | Offline, speed, statsAlso the flexible sleep timer, bookmarks and queue.2 | Themes and iconsThe vendor says playback is free.13 | DownloadsAlso customization. No full list is given.4 | Extra featuresThe watch app is sold separately.67 | Not stated by the developerThe Supporter entry has no stated benefit.8 | NothingA single free app.9 | Not stated by the developerThe Supporter purchase has no stated benefit.10 | Cloud sync, WatchAlso themes and icons.1112 |
| iOS version, ratings and updates | |||||||||
| Minimum iOS | iOS 18.1justRead 5.5.19 | iOS 26.0The description says iOS 18 and later.2 | iOS 17.6Matches the FAQ.318 | iOS 16.0From the store listing.4 | iOS 26.5The site agrees.67 | iOS 17.0From the store listing.8 | iOS 15.0The README says iOS 16.914 | iOS 18.0From the store listing.10 | iOS 26.0From the store listing.11 |
| Rating in the US storeA rating count shows how long people have used an app, not how good it is. Seven of the nine have under 700 US ratings. | 4.6154 ratings.19 | 4.07216 ratings.2 | 4.5843 ratings.18 | 4.68338 ratings.4 | 4.855,826 ratings.6 | 4.86685 ratings.8 | 4.87163 ratings.9 | 4.8643 ratings.10 | 4.8419,795 ratings.11 |
| Latest update | 19 Oct 2026Version 5.5.19 | 25 Aug 2026Version 3.3.1.2 | 8 Oct 2026Version 2.7.18 | 6 Sep 2026Version 1.6.3.4 | 25 Oct 2026Version 2026.5.4.6 | 22 Oct 2026Version 1.13.8 | 21 Oct 2026Version 1.12.0.9 | 23 Oct 2026Version 1.5.2.10 | 25 Oct 2026Version 6.0.1.11 |
Comparing one app with justRead? Start with justRead vs BookPlayer.
justRead is a reader first, so it downloads the books from your server.
Sign in with a password or your server's OpenID. Pick a book and it downloads into your library, then plays from the device. It does not stream.
Seven places where another app here is the better choice.
justRead plays a downloaded copy. Absorb says it streams, and five more apps mention it. If your connection is slow, pick one of them.1911
Only book libraries are listed. Six other apps list podcasts, so a server with shows suits them better.12491013
Six other apps list one. Four say you can listen without the phone nearby.168111213
justRead has no link to Jellyfin, Plex, Navidrome or Subsonic. Three other apps cover Plex, Jellyfin or Emby.14611
Six other apps list a boost, an equalizer or both. It helps with quiet recordings.1689101113
Absorb, AudioBooth and Still are free. The trial covers the whole app, then a paywall blocks it.18910
justRead has 54 US ratings at 4.61. Prologue has 5,826 at 4.85, and BookPlayer 19,795 at 4.84.61119
Five reasons you may prefer it.
A book's audio and ebook copies are linked. The library also holds EPUB, PDF, CBZ and CBR, with an Audio filter.1
justRead 5.5 needs iOS 18.1. Three other apps need iOS 26.0 or later.261119
justRead plays files you add yourself as well as books from your server. Among the others, only BookPlayer says the same.111
Downloads respect your account's download permission and run in the background. We found no such mention for other apps.1
For a book with no recording, Apple or neural voices read it to you, even in CarPlay. The other apps' pages describe no text to speech.168913
More on the audiobook player and the ebook library.
Your place lives on your server, so switching mostly means signing in again.
Pause with a connection, so your last position reaches the server.2810
Position belongs to the user, not the app. Using OpenID? Check the new app lists it.1261013
Each app keeps downloads in its own storage, so download the ones you plan to hear.
Compare the chapter and time with where you stopped. Remove the old app after a week of steady listening.
Five quotes picked by hand, from one developer's note and four App Store reviews. They are examples, not a count.
I’ve been using ABS for several years and have hopped between the various iOS apps (5 thus far). ShelfPlayer is the one I keep coming back to and in late 2025, this is the one you want.
My wife was frustrated waiting for Testflight access to the original Audiobookshelf app, so I built SoundLeaf as an alternative.
I’ve tried almost every app out there for audiobooks. This is the answer.
This just sits at loading when i try to play audiobooks I’ve downloaded offline, if im connected to my local network it works but offline play is what i bought this for.
After IOS update Prologue wont open. Had to delete and reinstall the app, lost access to all servers, cannot play any books, lost all of my library.
The official app
Install an independent app from the App Store and sign in to your own server. The official iPhone app is still a beta.23
The README says the iPhone app is an early beta and the TestFlight beta is full. Apple limits a beta to 10,000 testers.23
Features and price
No. justRead downloads a book and plays the copy from your device. That suits offline listening, but a book must finish downloading before you can play it.1
Alternatives and choosing
There is no relay service like Plex has, so your phone must reach the server itself. People use Tailscale, a reverse proxy with HTTPS or a Cloudflare Tunnel.3
Play a long multi-file book and a single m4b for ten minutes, then switch on airplane mode. Set a sleep timer, change speed, close the app and reopen it. Your position should come back.
No. justRead also plays your own files and opens OPDS catalogs and Calibre servers. Your EPUB, PDF and comics are there too.1
justRead.app makes justRead, so we hold this page to a stricter rule than a neutral roundup. Every justRead cell comes from the app's source code at the 5.5 release.
The other eight apps' cells come from each app's US App Store listing, vendor site or public repository, all re-read on 26 October 2026.
"Not stated by the developer" means we found nothing either way and did not guess. We did not run the apps against a server, so a cell shows what the developer says.
Apps change often, and some ship an update every week. The dates tell you how old each fact is.
The quotes are examples, not a count. The ShelfPlayer and Prologue reviews come from samples pulled on 23 October 2026 (84 and 195 reviews). We re-read each quote in Apple's feed on 26 October 2026.
Checked 26 October 2026 against justRead 5.5, ShelfPlayer 3.3.1, SoundLeaf 2.7, plappa 1.6.3, Prologue 2026.5.4, AudioBooth 1.13, Absorb 1.12.0, Still 1.5.2 and BookPlayer 6.0.1.
A plain-text version of this page is at https://justread.app/en/compare/audiobookshelf-iphone-apps.md.