# justRead vs Yomu: a one-time price and a Mac app, or read aloud and audiobooks

Yomu is a simple reader with a one-time $7.99 Pro, a Mac app and Mobi and Kindle files. justRead adds read aloud, audiobooks and goals, and is iPhone and iPad only.

Checked 2026-10-28. Canonical page: https://justread.app/en/compare/justread-vs-yomu

## Which should you pick?

- **Yomu**: you want the lowest one-time price, a Mac app, or Mobi and Kindle files. Free Yomu holds 10 documents and shows ads; Pro is $7.99 once.
- **justRead**: you want read aloud, audiobooks, reading goals, PDFs you can highlight, or two-way Calibre sync. It costs more: $79.99 once, after a 14-day trial.

## A simple reader, or a reader with audio and goals

Both are iOS ebook readers with folders, widgets and iCloud sync. They differ in price and in how much sits around the book.

Yomu is an independent reader for iPhone, iPad and Mac. It opens Mobi and Kindle files as well as EPUB, PDF and comics. The maker calls it an alternative to Stanza, Marvin and KyBook.

justRead runs on iPhone and iPad only. It reads books aloud, plays audiobooks, tracks goals and streaks, and syncs with Calibre as well as iCloud.

Yomu is free to try. iCloud sync, more than ten books and no ads need the one-time Pro purchase.

## What each app costs

Yomu is the cheaper app, and its free version is real but limited.

### Yomu Pro: $7.99 once

Yomu Pro is a one-time purchase, not a subscription, and it works on iPhone, iPad and Mac. A Karma edition costs $12.99 and has exactly the same features. [1]

### What free Yomu limits

Free Yomu keeps every format, theme and setting. It holds 10 documents, shows ads and has no iCloud sync. Pro removes all three. [1][2]

### justRead: free for 14 days, then paid

justRead costs $4.99 a month, $29.99 a year or $79.99 once, after a 14-day trial. That is more than Yomu Pro's $7.99. [3][4][1]

### Both work with Family Sharing

With Family Sharing, up to six family members can use Yomu. justRead's subscription and lifetime purchase support Family Sharing too. [1][4]

## justRead and Yomu, row by row

A Yes or No always has a source. Click a mark to see it.

| What matters | justRead | Yomu |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Price after the trial | $79.99 once. A 14-day trial, then $4.99 a month, $29.99 a year or $79.99 once. [3][4] | $7.99 once. Yomu Pro is a one-time purchase. A Karma edition costs $12.99 and has the same features. [1] |
| Free version | 14-day trial. After it, a paywall. [4] | Limited. Free Yomu has every format, theme and setting, but holds 10 documents, shows ads and has no iCloud sync. [1] |
| Family Sharing | Yes. Covers the subscription and the lifetime purchase. [4] | Yes. Up to six family members can use the app. [1] |
| iPhone and iPad | Yes [4] | Yes [5] |
| Mac | No. iPhone and iPad only. Mac Catalyst and Designed for iPad on Mac are switched off. [4] | Yes. The store listing and the Pro FAQ cover iPhone, iPad and Mac. [5][1] |
| EPUB | Yes [4] | Yes [6] |
| Mobi and Kindle files | No. The import list holds no MOBI or AZW3 entry. [4] | Yes. Opens Mobi (.mobi, .prc) and Kindle (.azw, .azw3, .kf8) files without DRM. [6] |
| PDF | Yes. Opens through PDFKit, and you can highlight a selection. [4] | Basic viewer. No text selection, highlights or search in a PDF. [7][8] |
| Comics (CBZ and CBR) | Yes. CBZ opens as a fixed-layout reader. CBR is repacked into CBZ on import. [4] | Yes. The home page lists .cbz and .cbr. [6] |
| Audiobooks | Yes. Plays m4b, m4a, mp3, aac and flac with a chapter list and speeds from 0.75x to 2x. [4] | Not stated by the developer. The store text and the home page list no audiobook player. [9][6] |
| Annotations and search | Yes. Highlights and notes in EPUB and PDF. [4] | EPUB, Mobi, Kindle. Text selection, notes and search work for EPUB, Mobi and Kindle files only. Pro does not change that. [1] |
| Read aloud | Yes. Apple voices read an EPUB aloud and highlight the sentence. Two sets of downloadable voices run on the device. PDFs are not read aloud. [4] | Not stated by the developer. The store text, the home page and the release notes list no read-aloud feature. The accessibility page says the reader uses WebKit, which supports text to speech as far as Apple and the book allow. [9][6][10][11] |
| Goals and streaks | Yes. A daily goal, a pages goal, a yearly books goal and a streak. A Statistics tab with a goal calendar heatmap. [4] | Not stated by the developer. The home page and the release notes list no reading goal, streak or heatmap. A widget from version 2.1.0 shows library statistics. [6][10] |
| Page curl | Yes. An Apple Books style page curl for paginated EPUB, switched on in settings. [4] | Not stated by the developer. The guide and the release notes name no page curl. [10] |
| Translate a selection | Yes. Apple's on-device Translation. [4] | Yes. Through the system translation menu on iOS 18. [10] |
| AI help | On the device. Explain, Who's This and Catch Me Up run with Apple Intelligence. They need iOS 26 and a device where it is switched on. [4] | Notes only. Apple Intelligence Writing Tools can proofread and rewrite the text of annotation notes. [10] |
| Dictionary and lookup | Yes. A dictionary sheet with an extra Wikipedia source. [4] | Yes. The Lookup menu opens Wikipedia, Google Translate, DeepL or any other service. [10] |
| Export notes | Markdown, PDF, Readwise. Markdown and PDF files, and Readwise, automatically when a book closes. [4] | Text, Markdown, JSON. Books and annotations export in text, markdown or JSON. A Shortcuts action uploads highlights to Readwise. [5][12] |
| iCloud sync | Yes. Position, bookmarks, highlights, finished state, covers, settings and fonts. [4] | Pro only. Books, annotations, folders, tags and reading progress. Off until you switch it on for each device. [2] |
| Sync with a server you run | Yes. Syncs with Calibre, a KOReader sync server, Grimmory and BookOrbit. [4] | No. The only sync Yomu offers is the Pro iCloud library. Other ways to sync books or progress are not supported. [13] |
| OPDS catalogs | Yes. Project Gutenberg is built in, and books download from any OPDS catalog. [4] | Yes. Connects to Calibre, Calibre-Web Automated, Grimmory, Kavita and Komga. Downloaded books are copied into Yomu. [14] |
| Dropbox | No. No Dropbox, Google Drive or OneDrive connector. They show up only as folders in the Files app. [4] | Yes. Dropbox has its own link. Google Drive, OneDrive and Nextcloud come through the Files app. [14] |
| Widgets | Yes. Five home-screen widgets and five lock-screen widgets. [4] | Yes. Recent books or highlighted quotes in small, medium and large sizes, and lock-screen widgets. [15][10] |
| Control Center | Yes. A control that continues the last book. [4] | Yes. A Control Center and lock-screen control opens the current book on iOS 18.1. [10] |
| Shortcuts and Siri | Yes. Exposes App Intents for Shortcuts and Siri. [4] | Yes. Siri shows your reading list. Shortcuts actions include a Readwise upload. [16][12] |
| Personal data | None. Uses no analytics, and has no analytics framework in the app. [4] | Not collected. The store description says Yomu does not collect or sell personal information. [5] |

Every Yomu cell was re-read on 28 October 2026.

## What justRead plays and reads aloud

Yomu lists no player and no read-aloud feature. justRead has both.

justRead plays audiobooks from your own files, with a chapter list, speeds from 0.75x to 2x and a Car Mode. It also reads EPUBs aloud with Apple voices or with voices that run on the device.

## Where Yomu is the better pick

Five places where Yomu is better.

### It costs less

Yomu Pro is $7.99 once, or $12.99 for the Karma edition with the same features. justRead's lifetime price is $79.99. [1][3]

### A free version that stays free

Free Yomu keeps every format, theme and setting. The limits are 10 documents, ads and no iCloud sync. justRead's free period is a 14-day trial. [1][4]

### A Mac app

Yomu runs on iPhone, iPad and Mac. justRead is iPhone and iPad only. [5][4]

### Mobi and Kindle files

Yomu opens Mobi, AZW and AZW3 files. justRead has no import for MOBI or AZW3. [6][4]

### A Dropbox link

Dropbox has its own link in Yomu. justRead has no Dropbox connector, so Dropbox appears only as a folder in the Files app. [14][4]

## Where justRead is the better pick

Six places where justRead is better.

### Read aloud

Apple voices read an EPUB aloud and highlight the sentence, and two sets of voices run on the device. Yomu's store text, home page and release notes list no read-aloud feature. [4][9][6][10]

### Audiobooks

m4b, m4a, mp3, aac and flac files play with a chapter list and speeds from 0.75x to 2x. Yomu lists no audiobook player. [4][9][6]

### Goals and streaks

A daily goal, a pages goal, a yearly books goal and a streak that forgives one missed day a month. Yomu's home page and release notes list no reading goal or streak. [4][6][10]

### PDFs you can mark up

Highlight a selection in a PDF the way you do in an EPUB. Yomu's PDF support is a basic viewer with no text selection, highlights or search. [4][7][8]

### Sync with your own server

Highlights, notes and bookmarks sync both ways with a Calibre server, and KOReader, Grimmory and BookOrbit servers connect too. Yomu's only sync is its Pro iCloud library. [4][13]

### An assistant that stays on the device

Explain, Who's This and Catch Me Up run with Apple Intelligence, and nothing you read leaves the device. They need iOS 26 and a device where it is on. Yomu's Apple Intelligence support is Writing Tools on annotation notes. [4][10]

## How to move from Yomu to justRead

Yomu keeps its own copy of every book it imports, so the files you imported from are still where they were.

### Export what you want to keep

Yomu exports books and annotations as text, markdown or JSON. Do that for the books you marked up. [5][14]

### Convert Mobi and Kindle files

justRead does not open MOBI or AZW3 files. Convert them to EPUB first, for example with Calibre. [4][6]

### Add the books to justRead

Open them from the Files app, point justRead at a folder in iCloud Drive, or drop them onto the iPad. justRead can read a book in place from a folder you chose, without copying it. [4]

### Reconnect your catalogs

Yomu connects to OPDS catalogs such as Calibre, Kavita and Komga. Add the same catalog in justRead, or connect to Calibre directly to sync highlights both ways. [14][4]

### Try it before you pay

The app starts with a 14-day free trial, so you can test it on your own books first. [4]

Note the page you are on in each book first, because reading positions stay inside the app that made them.

## What Yomu's users say

Five App Store reviews from the US store, quoted as written. Three praise Yomu and two name a limit.

> Yomu is that reader. It respects the reader with a clean interface and avoids bloat.
>
> App Store review, 5 stars, version 3.21.0, US, 22 October 2026

> the free version works great, and the one time payment for the paid version is even better
>
> App Store review, 5 stars, version 3.20.0, US, 4 October 2026

> it definitely filled in the hole that Marvin3 left after it stopped getting updates
>
> App Store review, 4 stars, version 3.19.0, US, 11 September 2026

> I do wish there was some ability to select text in OCR enabled PDFs for the sake of word lookup
>
> App Store review, 4 stars, version 3.14.2, US, 4 January 2026

> If you’ve synced to iCloud, those books can only be read in Yomu
>
> App Store review, 1 star, version 3.20.0, US, 20 October 2026

## Yomu questions

### Is Yomu free?

Yomu is free to try and is listed as Free with in-app purchases. The free version has every format, theme and setting, but holds 10 documents, shows ads and has no iCloud sync. Yomu Pro, a one-time purchase at $7.99, removes those limits. [1][5]

### Is Yomu a subscription?

No. Yomu Pro is a one-time purchase, and it works on iPhone, iPad and Mac. A Karma edition costs $12.99 and has the same features. [1]

### Does Yomu sync with iCloud?

Yes, in Yomu Pro only. The iCloud library covers books, annotations, folders, tags and reading progress, and you switch it on separately on each device. The maker says reading-position sync can take minutes and is unreliable on some devices. It is the only sync Yomu offers. [2][13]

### Does Yomu have text to speech or read aloud?

Its store text, home page and release notes list no read-aloud feature. The accessibility page says the reader uses WebKit, which supports text to speech as far as Apple and the book allow. [9][6][10][11]

### Can Yomu highlight text in a PDF?

No. Text selection, annotations and search work for EPUB, Mobi and Kindle files only, and the maker says Pro does not change that. PDF support is a basic viewer. [1][7][8]

### Does Yomu work on Mac?

Yes. Yomu runs on iPhone, iPad and Mac, and one Pro purchase covers all three. justRead is iPhone and iPad only. [5][1][4]

### Does Yomu have widgets?

Yes. Home-screen widgets show recent books or highlighted quotes in small, medium and large sizes, and lock-screen widgets show recent or latest books. A Control Center control opens the current book on iOS 18.1. [15][10]

### Does Yomu work with Calibre?

Yomu connects to OPDS catalogs, including Calibre, Calibre-Web Automated, Grimmory, Kavita and Komga. Books you download are copied into Yomu. justRead also syncs highlights, notes and bookmarks both ways with a Calibre server. [14][4]

### Is Yomu a Marvin alternative?

The maker positions Yomu as an alternative to Stanza, Marvin and KyBook. [18]

### Is justRead a good Yomu alternative?

If you read on iPhone and iPad and want read aloud, audiobooks, reading goals or Calibre sync, yes. If you also read on a Mac, or want the lower one-time price, Yomu is the one to keep. [4][5][1]

## Other readers worth a look

If neither app fits, these four have a page of their own.

### Readest: free sync on desktop and phone

Readest is open source, and its Free plan syncs library, progress, highlights and notes across devices. It runs on macOS, Windows, Linux, Android, iOS and the web. See [justRead vs Readest](https://justread.app/en/compare/justread-vs-readest). [19][20][21]

### KyBook 3: DjVu, FB2 and RTF files

KyBook 3 opens DjVu, FB2, RTF and CBT comics as well as EPUB and PDF, and it needs only iOS 11.0 or later. Its newest release is dated 23 February 2019. See [justRead vs KyBook 3](https://justread.app/en/compare/justread-vs-kybook-3). [22][23][24]

### Anx Reader: open source with AI on your own key

Anx Reader is MIT licensed, syncs through WebDAV and runs on Android, iOS, macOS and Windows. Its AI assistant needs your own API key. See [justRead vs Anx Reader](https://justread.app/en/compare/justread-vs-anx-reader). [25][26][27]

### BookFusion: one library on web, iOS and Android

BookFusion reads on the web, iOS and Android, and has an E Ink mode for Android tablets. Plans start at $1.99 a month and the pricing page shows no one-time purchase. See [justRead vs BookFusion](https://justread.app/en/compare/justread-vs-bookfusion). [28][29]

## Try it on your own books

Add your books and audiobooks and try read aloud. The app starts with a 14-day free trial.

## How we checked

justRead.app makes justRead. Every justRead cell comes from the app's source code at the 5.6 release.

Yomu's cells come from the maker's help pages, release notes and pricing FAQ at yomu-reader.com and from its US App Store listing, all re-read on 28 October 2026. The app version is 3.21.0.

"Not stated by the developer" means the store text, the home page and the release notes list nothing on the point. We did not guess.

We did not install Yomu or test it on a device. Its lines describe what the maker says, not how the app behaves for you.

Prices change. Yomu's come from the maker's own pricing page, justRead's from its own site.

The reviews come from the US App Store feed and are quoted as written.

## Sources

1. Yomu help: what the free version and Yomu Pro include, and what they cost (https://www.yomu-reader.com/support/faq/purchase/), accessed 2026-10-28.
2. Yomu help: how the iCloud Cloud Library works and where it can fail (https://www.yomu-reader.com/support/faq/cloud/), accessed 2026-10-28.
3. justRead pricing and trial, from the justRead site (https://justread.app/en/#pricing), accessed 2026-10-28.
4. justRead 5.6 app behavior, read from the app's source code at the release build (our own review), accessed 2026-10-28.
5. Yomu, App Store listing (US): price line, platforms, library and export features (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/yomu-ebook-reader/id562211012), accessed 2026-10-28.
6. Yomu home page: formats, reader and library features (https://www.yomu-reader.com/), accessed 2026-10-28.
7. Yomu help: general questions, including PDF support (https://www.yomu-reader.com/support/faq/general/), accessed 2026-10-28.
8. Yomu help: reader questions, including PDF text selection (https://www.yomu-reader.com/support/faq/reader/), accessed 2026-10-28.
9. Yomu, App Store description text (US lookup data), searched for read-aloud and audiobook features (https://itunes.apple.com/lookup?id=562211012&country=us), accessed 2026-10-28.
10. Yomu release notes (current version 3.21.0) (https://www.yomu-reader.com/release-notes/), accessed 2026-10-28.
11. Yomu help: accessibility (https://www.yomu-reader.com/support/faq/accessibility/), accessed 2026-10-28.
12. Yomu help: Shortcuts actions (https://www.yomu-reader.com/support/faq/shortcuts/), accessed 2026-10-28.
13. Yomu help: library questions, including which sync is offered (https://www.yomu-reader.com/support/faq/library/), accessed 2026-10-28.
14. Yomu help: importing books, OPDS catalogs and cloud folders (https://www.yomu-reader.com/support/faq/import/), accessed 2026-10-28.
15. Yomu guide: widgets (https://www.yomu-reader.com/support/guide/widgets/), accessed 2026-10-28.
16. Yomu help: Siri (https://www.yomu-reader.com/support/faq/siri/), accessed 2026-10-28.
17. Yomu, App Store reviews (US storefront), quoted as written (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/yomu-ebook-reader/id562211012?see-all=reviews), accessed 2026-10-28.
18. Yomu about page (https://www.yomu-reader.com/about/), accessed 2026-10-28.
19. Readest pricing page: what the Free plan includes (https://readest.com/pricing), accessed 2026-10-28.
20. Readest README at the v0.12.16 tag: platforms (https://raw.githubusercontent.com/readest/readest/v0.12.16/README.md), accessed 2026-10-28.
21. Readest licence file at v0.12.16 (https://raw.githubusercontent.com/readest/readest/v0.12.16/LICENSE), accessed 2026-10-28.
22. The KyBook maker's site, Internet Archive copy (captured 22 December 2024): formats (https://web.archive.org/web/2024/http://kybook-reader.com/), accessed 2026-10-28.
23. KyBook 3, App Store listing (US): minimum iOS (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/kybook-3-ebook-reader/id1348198785), accessed 2026-10-28.
24. Apple's lookup record for KyBook 3: release date (https://itunes.apple.com/lookup?id=1348198785&country=us), accessed 2026-10-28.
25. Anx Reader licence file at the v1.14.0 tag (https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Anxcye/anx-reader/v1.14.0/LICENSE), accessed 2026-10-28.
26. Anx Reader README at the v1.14.0 tag: sync and platforms (https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Anxcye/anx-reader/v1.14.0/README.md), accessed 2026-10-28.
27. Apple's lookup record for Anx Reader: the AI key note (https://itunes.apple.com/lookup?id=6743196413&country=us), accessed 2026-10-28.
28. BookFusion, reading apps page: platforms and E Ink mode (https://www.bookfusion.com/reading/apps), accessed 2026-10-28.
29. BookFusion pricing page: plan prices (https://www.bookfusion.com/pricing), accessed 2026-10-28.
