# Which Audiobookshelf app for iPhone? Nine apps compared

No single app fits everyone. Pick by streaming, podcasts, Apple Watch, other servers and price.

Checked 2026-10-26. Canonical page: https://justread.app/en/compare/audiobookshelf-iphone-apps

## Which should you pick?

- **Absorb**: you want a free, open-source app that streams or downloads, with no ads.
- **AudioBooth**: you want an Apple Watch app, CarPlay and several servers in a free app.
- **BookPlayer**: you also play audiobook files from your phone, in the same app.
- **plappa**: you also run Jellyfin or Emby. Downloads cost $4.99 once or $1.99 a year.
- **Prologue**: you use Plex too and want one library for both.
- **ShelfPlayer**: you run many servers and will pay a subscription to listen offline.
- **SoundLeaf**: you want an Apple Watch app, CarPlay, podcasts and an ebook reader, with playback free.
- **Still**: you want OpenID sign-in, an Up Next queue and an ebook reader in a free app.
- **justRead**: you want audiobooks, ebooks and comics in one library, and your iPhone cannot run iOS 26.

## Why you need a third-party app

Audiobookshelf is a free, open-source server for books and podcasts. Its own iPhone app is still a beta.

The project's README, read on 26 October 2026, says the TestFlight beta is full.

So independent apps filled the gap. This page compares nine of them:

- Seven are built just for it.
- One is a general audiobook player that added it.
- The last is a reader that also connects: justRead.

## Nine apps, row by row

Yes or No only when a source says so. "Not stated" means we found nothing.

| What matters | justRead | ShelfPlayer | SoundLeaf | plappa | Prologue | AudioBooth | Absorb | Still | BookPlayer |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Servers it connects to | Audiobookshelf. Single-file audiobooks also come from [OPDS catalogs](https://justread.app/en/opds-reader) and Calibre content servers. [1] | Audiobookshelf. Several servers at once. [2] | Audiobookshelf. An Audiobookshelf account is required. [3] | Audiobookshelf, Jellyfin, Emby. Only works with a Jellyfin or Audiobookshelf server. [4][5] | Audiobookshelf, Plex. Both appear in one library. [6][7] | Audiobookshelf. A pure Audiobookshelf integration. [8] | Audiobookshelf. Needs a self-hosted server. [9] | Audiobookshelf. Needs a self-hosted server. [10] | Audiobookshelf, Jellyfin. Added in version 6.0. Local files work too. [11][12] |
| Single sign-on | Yes. Through the server's OpenID provider. [1] | Yes. OpenID and custom HTTP headers. [2] | Yes. OpenID with Authelia, Authentik or Keycloak. [13] | Yes. The 1.1.5 release notes add support for SSO with Audiobookshelf. [4] | Yes. The release notes mention an OpenID sign-in fix. [6] | Not stated by the developer [8] | Yes. OIDC/SSO login with OpenID Connect, says the README. [14] | Yes. OIDC and custom HTTP headers. [10] | Yes. The release notes add signing in to Audiobookshelf with your server's SSO provider. [11] |
| Podcasts from the same server | No. Podcast libraries are left out. Only book libraries are listed. [1] | Yes. Audiobooks and podcasts in one app. [2] | Yes. Auto-download, rules per show, transcripts. [13] | Yes. Podcast support with Audiobookshelf. [4] | Not stated by the developer. The pages describe audiobooks only. [6][7] | Yes. The release notes list Podcast Auto-Queue, which adds newly published episodes. [8] | Yes. Called an audiobook and podcast player. [9] | Yes. Episode lists with Add All to Queue. [10] | Not stated by the developer [11][12] |
| Streams from the server | No. It downloads the book and plays the copy. [1] | Not stated by the developer. The listing never uses the word stream. [2] | Not stated by the developer. The site never uses the word stream. [13] | Yes. The release notes mention switching to the streaming API endpoint in Audiobookshelf and a fix for streaming downloaded books. [4] | Yes. The release notes list streaming reliability work and, for the Watch, streaming the book you are reading. [15] | Yes. The release notes list a better multi-file and streaming experience. [8] | Yes. "Stream or download books for offline listening." [9] | Yes. The 1.3.5 notes say the Watch app can stream, download and control audiobooks and podcasts. [10] | Yes. The 6.0.1 notes: you can now stream from your servers. [11] |
| Downloads for offline listening | Yes. Background transfers. The account's download permission is respected. [1] | Yes, Premium. Offline listening is part of the subscription. [2] | Yes, free. Manual and Smart Downloads cost nothing. [13] | Yes, paid unlock. Downloads sit behind an in-app purchase. [4] | Yes. On the watch it needs a separate purchase. [6] | Yes. Listed. [8] | Yes. Download or stream. [9] | Yes. Listed. [10] | Yes. Listed in the README. [12] |
| Files that are not on a server | Yes. Files picker, drag and drop, Open in justRead, library folder. [1] | Not stated by the developer [2] | Not stated by the developer [13][3] | No. "Only works in connection with" a server. [4] | Not stated by the developer. Imports EPUB or PDF to read along, not audio. [6] | Not stated by the developer [8] | Not stated by the developer [9] | Not stated by the developer [10] | Yes. AirDrop, Files, iTunes sharing, Wi-Fi transfer, zip. [11][12] |
| Ebooks in the same app | Yes. EPUB, PDF, CBZ and CBR in one library. Audio and ebook copies are linked. [1] | PDF viewer only. No ebook reader is described. [2] | Yes. Reader with Read Along. [13][3] | Not stated by the developer. The release notes say plappa no longer indexes ebooks without audio. [4][5] | Yes. EPUB or PDF, with read along. [6] | Yes. EPUB and PDF. Version 1.13 adds EPUB 3 narration. [8] | Yes. Built-in reader, offline. [9] | Yes. EPUB, PDF and CBZ, with highlights. [10] | Not stated by the developer. Described as an audiobook player. [11] |
| Playback speed | 0.75x to 2.0x. One setting for every book. [1] | Yes, Premium. Range not stated. [2] | Up to 5x. Separate speed per podcast. [13] | Yes. The release notes say the remaining time follows the playback speed. The range is not stated. [4] | Yes. Saved per book. Range not stated. [6][7] | Yes. Range not stated. [8] | Up to 5x. Stated in the release notes. [9] | Yes. Range not stated. [10] | Yes. Range not stated. [11] |
| Sleep timer | Yes. 5 to 60 minutes, or End of Chapter. [1] | Yes, Premium. Default 5 minutes. Other lengths are Premium. [2] | Yes. Night timer with fade out. [13] | Yes. The release notes say Shake to extend sleep timer works when the device is locked. [4] | Yes. By time or by chapter. [6][7] | Yes. With fade out. [8] | Yes. Listed. [9] | Yes. Listed. [10] | Yes. Listed. [11] |
| Chapters | Yes. Reads an m4b's embedded chapter list. [1] | Yes. Quick-access controls. [2] | Yes. Also from CarPlay. [13] | Yes. Embedded chapters are shown. [5] | Yes. The sleep timer works by time or by chapter, and the release notes mention chapter navigation in CarPlay. [7][15] | Yes. Listed. [8] | Yes. Listed. [9] | Yes. The release notes describe a chapter list and intro and outro chapter skipping. [10] | Yes. Listed. [11] |
| Volume boost or equalizer | No. No voice boost, loudness normalization or equalizer. [1] | Not stated by the developer [2] | Voice boost. No equalizer is described. [13] | Not stated by the developer [4][5] | Yes. Voice Boost and an equalizer. [6][7] | Equalizer. Version 1.13 adds a 6 kHz band. [8] | Yes. Loudness boost in the notes, equalizer in the README. [9][14] | Volume boost. Listed. [10] | Volume boost. Listed. [11][12] |

## Six questions that decide it

Answer these, then check the next table.

### Do you stream or download?

Six apps mention streaming. justRead only downloads. Two more do not say, so test them yourself. [9][11][15][8][4][10][1]

### Do you listen to podcasts?

Six apps list podcasts. justRead leaves them out. The table shows which. [2][13][4][8][9][10][1]

### Do you want an Apple Watch app?

You can get one on six apps. Prologue charges $4.99 for it. justRead has none. [13][4][8][6][10][11][1]

### Do you run Plex, Jellyfin or Emby?

Three apps also reach Plex, Jellyfin or Emby. The rest reach your server and nothing else. [6][4][11]

### Do you want to read too?

Six apps let you read ebooks too, justRead among them. [13][6][8][9][10][1]

### What will you pay?

Absorb, AudioBooth and Still are free. ShelfPlayer charges to play offline. justRead is paid after 14 days. [9][8][10][2][1]

## Car, wrist, price and upkeep

Where each app runs, what it costs and how current it is.

| What matters | justRead | ShelfPlayer | SoundLeaf | plappa | Prologue | AudioBooth | Absorb | Still | BookPlayer |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| CarPlay | Yes. Audiobooks and Read Aloud tabs, speed button, chapter list. [1] | Yes. Listed. [2] | Yes. Continue Listening, cover art, chapters. [13] | Yes. The release notes add a chapter list to the CarPlay interface. [4] | Yes. The store description names CarPlay, and the release notes mention enhanced chapter navigation there. [6][15] | Yes. Full integration. Version 1.13 adds a Library tab. [8] | Yes. Listed. [9] | Yes. Listed. [10] | Yes. Listed. [11] |
| Apple Watch app | No. justRead runs on iPhone and iPad. [1] | Not stated by the developer. The device list has no Apple Watch. [2] | Yes. Listen without the phone. Needs watchOS 11. [13][3] | Yes. The store lists Apple Watch. The 1.5.1 release notes say "Added (beta) Apple Watch support", and a 1.5.5 fix covers setup on the Watch. [4] | Yes, extra purchase. Watch downloads need a separate $4.99 purchase. [6] | Yes. Controls playback. Version 1.13 can send a book to the watch. [8] | Not stated by the developer [9][14] | Yes. The store lists Apple Watch, and the 1.3.5 notes describe Watch support in beta. [10] | Yes. Stand-alone playback is part of BookPlayer Pro. [11][12] |
| Home Screen widgets | Yes. A Current Book widget with Play and Pause. [1] | Yes. Also Live Activities and Dynamic Island. [2] | Yes. Also a Listening card. [13] | Not stated by the developer [4][5] | Yes. Listed. [6] | Yes. The release notes list Stats widgets and a Lock Screen widget. [8] | Yes. Listed. [9] | Yes. Listed. [10] | Yes. A Recents widget in the 6.0.1 notes. [11] |
| Siri and Shortcuts | Yes. Continue Listening plays your most recent book. [1] | Yes. Siri, Shortcuts and Spotlight. [2] | Yes. Siri and the Action Button. [13][3] | Shortcuts. The release notes add support for shortcuts. Siri is not mentioned, and a Siri request is open. [4][16] | Yes. Listed. [6] | Yes. The release notes list Siri support to play a downloaded book or resume the current one. [8] | Not stated by the developer [9] | Yes. The store page shows Supports Siri, and the release notes add shortcuts to add a bookmark and continue a book. [10] | Yes. The store page shows Supports Siri, and the 5.21.1 notes add asking Siri to play a book or making a shortcut for one. [11] |
| Listening statistics | Yes. Week, month, year and all-time ranges. [1] | Yes. History and daily goals. [2] | Yes. On the feature list. [3] | Not stated by the developer [4][5] | Yes. Stats and streaks. [7] | Yes. The release notes list a stats page and stats widgets. [8] | Yes. Stats and streaks. [9] | Yes. The 1.5.1 notes add listening statistics and a calendar. [10] | Not stated by the developer [11][12] |
| Price in the US store | Paid after a trial. 14 days free, then $4.99 a month, $29.99 a year or $79.99 once. [17] | Free, then subscription. Weekly $2.99 or yearly $29.99. [2] | Free. Pro is $9.99 once. Supporter is $0.99 a month or $9.99 a year. [18][13] | Free, then unlock. $4.99 once, or $1.99 a year. [4] | Free, then unlock. Premium $9.99 once. Family $17.99. Tips $0.99 to $5.99. [6] | Free. A $0.99 Supporter entry and tips up to $9.99. [8] | Free. No ads or subscriptions. GPL 3.0 code. [9][14] | Free. One optional $9.99 Supporter purchase. [10] | Free; Pro is paid. Pro is $4.99 a month or $49.99 a year. GPL 3.0 code. [11][12] |
| What the paid part covers | The whole app. A blocking paywall follows the trial. [1] | Offline, speed, stats. Also the flexible sleep timer, bookmarks and queue. [2] | Themes and icons. The vendor says playback is free. [13] | Downloads. Also customization. No full list is given. [4] | Extra features. The watch app is sold separately. [7][6] | Not stated by the developer. The Supporter entry has no stated benefit. [8] | Nothing. A single free app. [9] | Not stated by the developer. The Supporter purchase has no stated benefit. [10] | Cloud sync, Watch. Also themes and icons. [11][12] |
| Minimum iOS | iOS 18.1. justRead 5.5. [19] | iOS 26.0. The description says iOS 18 and later. [2] | iOS 17.6. Matches the FAQ. [18][3] | iOS 16.0. From the store listing. [4] | iOS 26.5. The site agrees. [6][7] | iOS 17.0. From the store listing. [8] | iOS 15.0. The README says iOS 16. [9][14] | iOS 18.0. From the store listing. [10] | iOS 26.0. From the store listing. [11] |
| Rating in the US store | 4.61. 54 ratings. [19] | 4.07. 216 ratings. [2] | 4.58. 43 ratings. [18] | 4.68. 338 ratings. [4] | 4.85. 5,826 ratings. [6] | 4.86. 685 ratings. [8] | 4.87. 163 ratings. [9] | 4.86. 43 ratings. [10] | 4.84. 19,795 ratings. [11] |
| Latest update | 19 Oct 2026. Version 5.5. [19] | 25 Aug 2026. Version 3.3.1. [2] | 8 Oct 2026. Version 2.7. [18] | 6 Sep 2026. Version 1.6.3. [4] | 25 Oct 2026. Version 2026.5.4. [6] | 22 Oct 2026. Version 1.13. [8] | 21 Oct 2026. Version 1.12.0. [9] | 23 Oct 2026. Version 1.5.2. [10] | 25 Oct 2026. Version 6.0.1. [11] |

Comparing one app with justRead? Start with [justRead vs BookPlayer](https://justread.app/en/compare/justread-vs-bookplayer).

## How justRead works with Audiobookshelf

justRead is a reader first, so it downloads the books from your server.

Sign in with a password or your server's OpenID. Pick a book and it downloads into your library, then plays from the device. It does not stream.

- Downloads run in the background and follow your account's download permission.
- Your place and finished status sync both ways.
- Ebooks download too, and a book's audio and ebook copies are linked.

## Where justRead loses

Seven places where another app here is the better choice.

### It does not stream

justRead plays a downloaded copy. Absorb says it streams, and five more apps mention it. If your connection is slow, pick one of them. [1][9][11]

### It leaves podcasts out

Only book libraries are listed. Six other apps list podcasts, so a server with shows suits them better. [1][2][13][4][9][10]

### There is no Apple Watch app

Six other apps list one. Four say you can listen without the phone nearby. [1][13][8][6][11][12]

### It connects to no other server

justRead has no link to Jellyfin, Plex, Navidrome or Subsonic. Three other apps cover Plex, Jellyfin or Emby. [1][6][4][11]

### No volume boost or equalizer

Six other apps list a boost, an equalizer or both. It helps with quiet recordings. [1][13][6][8][9][10][11]

### You pay after 14 days

Absorb, AudioBooth and Still are free. The trial covers the whole app, then a paywall blocks it. [1][9][8][10]

### Fewer people have rated it

justRead has 54 US ratings at 4.61. Prologue has 5,826 at 4.85, and BookPlayer 19,795 at 4.84. [19][6][11]

## Where justRead is the better fit

Five reasons you may prefer it.

### Audio, ebooks and comics together

A book's audio and ebook copies are linked. The library also holds EPUB, PDF, CBZ and CBR, with an Audio filter. [1]

### It installs on older iPhones

justRead 5.5 needs iOS 18.1. Three other apps need iOS 26.0 or later. [19][2][11][6]

### Your files and your server

justRead plays files you add yourself as well as books from your server. Among the others, only BookPlayer says the same. [1][11]

### Downloads follow your server's rules

Downloads respect your account's download permission and run in the background. We found no such mention for other apps. [1]

### Read Aloud

For a book with no recording, Apple or neural voices read it to you, even in CarPlay. The other apps' pages describe no text to speech. [1][13][6][8][9]

More on the [audiobook player](https://justread.app/en/audiobook-player) and the [ebook library](https://justread.app/en/ebook-library).

## How to switch apps without losing your place

Your place lives on your server, so switching mostly means signing in again.

### Pause once in the old app

Pause with a connection, so your last position reaches the server. [2][8][10]

### Sign in as the same user

Position belongs to the user, not the app. Using OpenID? Check the new app lists it. [2][13][6][10][1]

### Download your books again

Each app keeps downloads in its own storage, so download the ones you plan to hear. 

### Check your place, then keep both

Compare the chapter and time with where you stopped. Remove the old app after a week of steady listening. 

## What listeners say about these apps

Five quotes picked by hand, from one developer's note and four App Store reviews. They are examples, not a count.

> I’ve been using ABS for several years and have hopped between the various iOS apps (5 thus far). ShelfPlayer is the one I keep coming back to and in late 2025, this is the one you want.
>
> App Store review of ShelfPlayer, 5 stars, version 3.1.1, US, 25 October 2025

> My wife was frustrated waiting for Testflight access to the original Audiobookshelf app, so I built SoundLeaf as an alternative.
>
> Hacker News, the developer introducing SoundLeaf, 23 April 2025

> I’ve tried almost every app out there for audiobooks. This is the answer.
>
> App Store review of Prologue, 5 stars, US, 9 October 2026

> This just sits at loading when i try to play audiobooks I’ve downloaded offline, if im connected to my local network it works but offline play is what i bought this for.
>
> App Store review of ShelfPlayer, 1 star, version 3.1.4, US, 20 January 2026

> After IOS update Prologue wont open. Had to delete and reinstall the app, lost access to all servers, cannot play any books, lost all of my library.
>
> App Store review of Prologue, 1 star, GB, 23 June 2026

## Questions about Audiobookshelf apps on iPhone

### How do I use Audiobookshelf on an iPhone?

Install an independent app from the App Store and sign in to your own server. The official iPhone app is still a beta. [23]

### Why not use the official iPhone app?

The README says the iPhone app is an early beta and the TestFlight beta is full. Apple limits a beta to 10,000 testers. [23]

### Which Audiobookshelf iPhone apps are free?

Absorb, AudioBooth and Still are free. SoundLeaf is free for playback. ShelfPlayer charges to play offline. plappa and Prologue sell in-app purchases. [9][8][10][13][2][4][6]

### Which Audiobookshelf apps have CarPlay?

All nine list CarPlay, justRead included. justRead shows Audiobooks and Read Aloud tabs, a speed button and a chapter list. [2][13][4][6][8][9][10][11][1]

### Which apps have an Apple Watch app?

Six apps list one. Prologue sells its Watch app for $4.99, and BookPlayer's stand-alone playback is part of its Pro plan. justRead has none. [13][4][8][6][10][11][1]

### Which apps stream instead of download?

Six apps mention streaming, Absorb among them. ShelfPlayer and SoundLeaf do not say either way. justRead downloads only. [9][11][15][8][4][10][1]

### Does justRead stream Audiobookshelf audio?

No. justRead downloads a book and plays the copy from your device. That suits offline listening, but a book must finish downloading before you can play it. [1]

### Does justRead handle Audiobookshelf podcasts?

No. It lists book libraries only, so podcasts are left out. If you want shows, six other apps list podcasts. [1][2][13][4][9][10]

### Which apps work with Plex or Jellyfin too?

Prologue names Plex. plappa names Jellyfin and Emby, and BookPlayer names Jellyfin. The others reach one server only. [6][4][11][3][2][8][9][10]

### Which apps support OpenID sign-in?

ShelfPlayer, SoundLeaf, Still, Absorb and justRead list it. Release notes for plappa, Prologue and BookPlayer mention it. We found nothing for AudioBooth. [2][13][10][14][1][4][6][11]

### Which iOS version does each app need?

Absorb needs iOS 15.0, plappa 16.0, AudioBooth 17.0, SoundLeaf 17.6, Still 18.0 and justRead 18.1. ShelfPlayer and BookPlayer need 26.0, and Prologue 26.5. [9][4][18][8][10][19][2][11][6]

### Which apps can download books for offline listening?

All nine list downloads. SoundLeaf's are free. plappa's need an in-app purchase, and ShelfPlayer bundles them into its paid plan. [2][13][4][6][8][9][10][12][1]

### What is a good ShelfPlayer alternative?

If the subscription is the problem, Absorb, AudioBooth, Still and SoundLeaf are free to install. Check the tables for servers and podcasts. [2][9][8][10][13]

### What is a good plappa alternative?

plappa is free to install, but downloads cost extra. If you only use one server, Absorb, AudioBooth and Still are free. [4][5][9][8][10][11][6]

### What is a good Prologue alternative?

If you only use one server, AudioBooth and SoundLeaf are free and list an Apple Watch app. If you use Plex too, Prologue is the one that lists it. [6][7][8][13]

### BookPlayer or Prologue: which should I use?

BookPlayer plays files you own and connects to Jellyfin. Prologue connects to Plex and reads along with an EPUB. Plex points to Prologue, and loose files to BookPlayer. [11][12][6][7]

### plappa or ShelfPlayer: which should I use?

plappa adds Jellyfin and Emby. ShelfPlayer adds many servers, Siri and Live Activities. Jellyfin points to plappa, and many servers to ShelfPlayer. [4][5][2]

### How do I reach my server remotely?

There is no relay service like Plex has, so your phone must reach the server itself. People use Tailscale, a reverse proxy with HTTPS or a Cloudflare Tunnel. [3]

### How do I test an app first?

Play a long multi-file book and a single m4b for ten minutes, then switch on airplane mode. Set a sleep timer, change speed, close the app and reopen it. Your position should come back. 

### How is BookOrbit different from Audiobookshelf?

BookOrbit is its own server for ebooks, audiobooks and comics. Its iPhone app needs iOS 26 or later. justRead connects to both. [23][24][25][1]

### Which iPhone apps work with a Grimmory server?

Grimmory has no iPhone app of its own. justRead opens single-file audiobooks from its server. [26][1]

### Is justRead only for Audiobookshelf?

No. justRead also plays your own files and opens OPDS catalogs and Calibre servers. Your EPUB, PDF and comics are there too. [1]

## Try justRead with your Audiobookshelf server

Sign in with your password or single sign-on, download the books you want and listen offline. The 14-day trial covers the whole app.

## How we checked

justRead.app makes justRead, so we hold this page to a stricter rule than a neutral roundup. Every justRead cell comes from the app's source code at the 5.5 release.

The other eight apps' cells come from each app's US App Store listing, vendor site or public repository, all re-read on 26 October 2026.

"Not stated by the developer" means we found nothing either way and did not guess. We did not run the apps against a server, so a cell shows what the developer says.

Apps change often, and some ship an update every week. The dates tell you how old each fact is.

The quotes are examples, not a count. The ShelfPlayer and Prologue reviews come from samples pulled on 23 October 2026 (84 and 195 reviews). We re-read each quote in Apple's feed on 26 October 2026.

## Sources

1. justRead 5.5 app behavior, read from the app's source code at the release build (our own review), accessed 2026-10-26.
2. ShelfPlayer, App Store listing (US): version 3.3.1, description, price and in-app purchases (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/id6475221163), accessed 2026-10-26.
3. SoundLeaf, vendor FAQ (server requirement, iOS version, ebook reader, Apple Watch) (https://soundleafapp.com/faq/), accessed 2026-10-26.
4. plappa, App Store listing (US): version 1.6.3, description and in-app purchases (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/plappa/id6475201956), accessed 2026-10-26.
5. plappa, project site (supported servers, chapters, offline downloads) (https://plappa.me/), accessed 2026-10-26.
6. Prologue, App Store listing (US): version 2026.5.4, description, release notes and in-app purchases (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/prologue-audiobook-player/id1459223267), accessed 2026-10-26.
7. Prologue, vendor site (features, platforms, price model) (https://prologue.audio), accessed 2026-10-26.
8. AudioBooth, App Store listing (US): version 1.13, description, release notes and in-app purchases (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/id6753017503), accessed 2026-10-26.
9. Absorb, App Store listing (US): version 1.12.0, description, release notes and price (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/absorb-for-audiobookshelf/id6760673498), accessed 2026-10-26.
10. Still, App Store listing (US): version 1.5.2, description, release notes and in-app purchases (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/id6754208326), accessed 2026-10-26.
11. BookPlayer, App Store listing (US): version 6.0.1, release notes, description, price and in-app purchases (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/bookplayer/id1138219998), accessed 2026-10-26.
12. BookPlayer, project README on GitHub (features, Pro tier, license) (https://github.com/TortugaPower/BookPlayer), accessed 2026-10-26.
13. SoundLeaf, vendor homepage (features, Apple Watch, CarPlay, pricing) (https://soundleafapp.com/), accessed 2026-10-26.
14. Absorb, project README on GitHub (equalizer, license, platforms) (https://github.com/pounat/absorb), accessed 2026-10-26.
15. Prologue, release notes on the vendor site (CarPlay chapter navigation) (https://prologue.audio/releases/index.html), accessed 2026-10-26.
16. plappa issue 501, a request for Siri shortcuts, open (https://github.com/LeoKlaus/plappa/issues/501), accessed 2026-10-26.
17. justRead pricing and trial, from the justRead site (https://justread.app/en/#pricing), accessed 2026-10-26.
18. SoundLeaf, App Store listing (US): version 2.7, price and in-app purchases (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/id6738635634), accessed 2026-10-26.
19. justRead, App Store listing (US): version 5.5, minimum iOS and rating count (https://apps.apple.com/app/apple-store/id6757948605?pt=128143318&ct=home-hero&mt=8), accessed 2026-10-26.
20. ShelfPlayer, App Store customer reviews (US storefront), read from Apple's public review feed on 26 October 2026 (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/id6475221163?see-all=reviews), accessed 2026-10-26.
21. Hacker News, Show HN: SoundLeaf, an iOS client for Audiobookshelf (https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=43775404), accessed 2026-10-26.
22. Prologue, App Store customer reviews (US and GB storefronts), read from Apple's public review feed on 26 October 2026 (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/prologue-audiobook-player/id1459223267?see-all=reviews), accessed 2026-10-26.
23. Audiobookshelf mobile app README on GitHub (iOS beta status) (https://github.com/advplyr/audiobookshelf-app), accessed 2026-10-26.
24. BookOrbit, project README on GitHub (library scope, iPhone and Apple Watch app, requirements) (https://github.com/bookorbit/bookorbit), accessed 2026-10-26.
25. BookOrbit: The Official App, App Store listing (US storefront), read on 26 October 2026 (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/bookorbit-the-official-app/id6811807346), accessed 2026-10-26.
26. Grimmory, project README on GitHub (library scope, supported formats) (https://github.com/grimmory-tools/grimmory), accessed 2026-10-26.
