# justRead vs BookPlayer: two players for audiobook files you own

BookPlayer is free, open source and has an Apple Watch app. justRead fits if you also read ebooks, or your iPhone cannot run iOS 26.

Checked 2026-10-26. Canonical page: https://justread.app/en/compare/justread-vs-bookplayer

## Which should you pick?

- **BookPlayer**: you want a free player, you listen on an Apple Watch without the phone, or your audiobooks sit on a Jellyfin server.
- **justRead**: you read ebooks too and want one library, you want Read Aloud, or your iPhone runs iOS older than 26.

## Both apps play files you own

Both apps play audiobook files you bring yourself. That is why people compare them.

A typical collection is an m4b per book, or a folder of mp3 chapters. They come from a DRM-free store, a ripped disc or your own server.

BookPlayer is a dedicated audiobook player. justRead is an ebook and comics reader with a built-in player. Audiobooks share its library, bookmarks and sync.

## justRead and BookPlayer, row by row

Yes or No only when a source says so. "Not stated" means we found nothing.

| What matters | justRead | BookPlayer |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Audio formats | Yes. m4b, m4a, mp3, aac and flac, plus the .audiobook and .zab package formats. wav, ogg, opus and wma are not accepted. [1] | Yes. The store description names M4B, M4A and MP3 and, in its headline, FLAC. The project README lists M4B, M4A and MP3. [2][3] |
| A folder of loose files becomes one book | Yes. A folder of two or more mp3, m4a, aac, flac or m4b files is grouped into one audiobook. [1] | Yes. Folders play in order, and the in-app Combine into Volume option merges imported MP3s into one book with a chapter per file. [3][4] |
| Chapters inside an m4b | Yes. The embedded chapter list is read and shown in a Chapters sheet with each chapter's length. [1] | Yes. Chapter navigation is listed. The FAQ says embedded chapters and artwork display best with M4B files. [2][4] |
| Ways to get files in | Yes. Files picker, drag and drop, Open in justRead, a library folder (iCloud Drive suggested), Audiobookshelf, [OPDS catalogs](https://justread.app/en/opds-reader) and Calibre content servers for single-file books. [1] | Yes. AirDrop, Files and file providers, iTunes File Sharing, zip archives, Wi-Fi transfer from a computer browser, and Jellyfin and Audiobookshelf servers. [2][3] |
| Playback speed | Yes. 0.75x to 2.0x in 0.05x steps. One speed setting carries from book to book. [1] | Yes. Adjustable speed is listed. The range is not stated by the developer. [2] |
| Skip interval | Yes. 5, 10, 15, 30, 45 or 60 seconds, set separately for back and forward. The defaults are 15 back and 30 forward. [1] | Not stated by the developer. The 5.20.0 release notes mention skip intervals with previous and next chapter options. No length in seconds is stated in the store listing or the README. [2][3] |
| Sleep timer | Yes. 5, 10, 15, 30, 45 or 60 minutes, plus End of Chapter for books with chapters. [1] | Yes. A sleep timer with adjustable duration. The exact options are not stated by the developer. [2][3] |
| Backs up a little after a pause | Yes. On resume it rewinds 0, 5, 10 or 30 seconds depending on how long you were away. [1] | Yes. Smart rewind is listed. [2][3] |
| Volume boost | No. The player has no volume boost, silence trimming, loudness normalization or equalizer. [1] | Yes. Volume Boost is listed in the store description and the README. [2][3] |
| CarPlay | Yes. An Audiobooks tab and a Read Aloud tab. Now Playing has a speed button and a Chapters list. [1] | Yes. CarPlay support is listed. [2] |
| Lock screen and Control Center | Yes. Cover, chapter time, next and previous chapter, scrubbing, speed and skip. [1] | Yes. Playback control from the lock screen and Control Center, plus headset button events. [2][3] |
| Apple Watch app | No. justRead runs on iPhone and iPad. There is no Apple Watch app. [1] | Yes. A companion app. Stand-alone playback on the Watch is part of BookPlayer Pro. [2][3] |
| Widgets and Siri | Yes. A Current Book widget with Play and Pause, and a Siri and Shortcuts action that continues the last audiobook. [1] | Yes. A Recents widget appears in the 6.0.1 release notes. The store page shows Supports Siri, and the 5.21.1 notes add asking Siri to play a book or making a shortcut for one. [2] |
| Audiobookshelf | Yes. Sign in with a password or single sign-on, download a book and play the copy. Progress syncs both ways. It does not stream. [1] | Yes. The 6.0.1 notes say "You can now stream from your Jellyfin and Audiobookshelf servers". The README says download. [2][3] |
| Jellyfin | No. justRead has no connection to Jellyfin, Plex, Navidrome or Subsonic servers. [1] | Yes. Listed in the import options and the 6.0.1 release notes. [2][3] |
| Progress across your own devices | Yes. Reading position, bookmarks and listening sessions sync through iCloud. [1] | Yes. Cloud Sync is listed, and the README places it in BookPlayer Pro. [2][3] |
| Hardcover progress | Yes. Audiobook progress syncs to Hardcover as seconds listened. [1] | Yes. Connects to a Hardcover account to track library progress. [2][3] |
| Ebooks and comics in the same app | Yes. EPUB, PDF, CBZ and CBR open in the same library, which has an Audio filter. [1] | Not stated by the developer. BookPlayer's pages describe an audiobook player and list no ebook reading. [2] |
| Read Aloud (text to speech) | Yes. Apple voices or neural voices, and CarPlay can play a book prepared in advance. [1] | Not stated by the developer. Text to speech is not listed on BookPlayer's pages. [2] |
| Price | Paid after a trial. 14-day trial of the whole app, then $4.99 a month, $29.99 a year or $79.99 once. [5] | Free; Pro is paid. Playback is free. Pro is $4.99 a month or $49.99 a year and adds cloud sync, stand-alone Watch playback, themes and icons. The source is GPL 3.0. [2][3] |
| Devices | iPhone and iPad. There is no Apple Watch app. [1] | iPhone, iPad and Apple Watch. The store listing shows iPhone, iPad, iPod touch and Apple Watch. [2] |
| Minimum iOS | iOS 18.1. justRead 5.5 requires iOS 18.1 or later. [1] | iOS 26.0. BookPlayer 6.0.1 requires iOS 26.0 or later. [2] |

Every BookPlayer cell was re-read on 26 October 2026.

## Where BookPlayer is the better pick

Six places where BookPlayer comes out ahead.

### Free to play, and open source

Core playback costs nothing, and the code is public under the GNU GPL 3.0. justRead is free for 14 days, then paid. [2][3][5]

### An Apple Watch app

BookPlayer lists a Watch companion, and its Pro tier adds stand-alone playback. justRead has no Watch app. [2][3][1]

### Jellyfin support

BookPlayer lists Jellyfin as an import source. justRead has no link to Jellyfin, Plex, Navidrome or Subsonic. [2][3][1]

### Streaming from your server

BookPlayer's 6.0.1 notes, from 25 Oct 2026, say you can stream from Jellyfin and Audiobookshelf. justRead downloads the book and plays the copy. [2][1]

### A volume boost

BookPlayer has Volume Boost for quiet recordings. justRead has no volume boost, silence trimming or equalizer. [2][3][1]

### A longer track record

BookPlayer came out in September 2016 and has 19,795 US ratings at 4.84. justRead has 54 at 4.61. [2][6]

## Where justRead is the better pick

Five reasons you may prefer justRead.

### Audiobooks and ebooks together

The [ebook library](https://justread.app/en/ebook-library) has an Audio filter. Your listening hours count in statistics next to your reading hours. [1]

### Read Aloud

When an ebook has no recording, Apple or neural voices can read it. See [read-aloud apps for iPhone](https://justread.app/en/compare/read-aloud-apps-iphone). BookPlayer's pages list no text to speech. [1][2]

### It runs on iOS 18.1

BookPlayer 6.0.1 needs iOS 26.0. justRead 5.5 needs iOS 18.1. If your phone cannot update, check the minimum before you install. [1][2]

### More skip choices

Back and forward take 5, 10, 15, 30, 45 or 60 seconds. BookPlayer's pages give no lengths. [1][2]

### Sync with no extra tier

Your place, bookmarks and listening time sync through iCloud. The 14-day trial gives you the same player a subscriber gets. [1]

Weighing a store instead? Read [justRead vs Audible](https://justread.app/en/compare/justread-vs-audible) or [justRead vs Apple Books](https://justread.app/en/compare/justread-vs-apple-books).

## Other BookPlayer alternatives

Each line comes from the app's own store listing. None is a ranking.

### Prologue

Plays books from your Plex or Audiobookshelf server. It has iPhone, iPad and Apple Watch apps, and CarPlay. [7]

### Bound

$4.99 once, for DRM-free files. It imports from Dropbox, OneDrive, Files and a web uploader. Last updated February 2025. [8][1]

### Apple Books

Free from Apple, with an Apple Watch app, CarPlay and Family Sharing. It suits you if you mostly buy from Apple. [9]

### ShelfPlayer

Built only for Audiobookshelf. It links to many servers at once. Offline listening needs its subscription. [10]

## What the justRead player does

The screen you listen from, and the one you drive with.

The player shows the cover, the chapter and the time, with a scrubber for the whole book. A toolbar holds Chapters, Bookmarks, Speed, Sleep Timer and Car Mode. More on the [audiobook player page](https://justread.app/en/audiobook-player).

- Car Mode has four large tiles: Play and Pause, Skip Back, Skip Forward and Bookmark.
- Close the player and the book keeps playing under a mini player. The Lock Screen shows chapter, author and book.

## Servers: Audiobookshelf and Jellyfin

If your files live on a home server, start here.

### BookPlayer: Jellyfin and Audiobookshelf

Its release notes say stream. Its README says download. They disagree, so check the store page when you install. [2][3]

### justRead: Audiobookshelf only

Sign in with a password or single sign-on. Books download and play from the device, and your place syncs back. It does not stream. [1]

### Download or stream?

A download plays with no signal but uses storage. A stream saves space and needs a connection. 

For streaming apps, see our [Audiobookshelf apps comparison](https://justread.app/en/compare/audiobookshelf-iphone-apps).

## How to move from BookPlayer to justRead

Nothing here deletes your BookPlayer library.

### Find the original files

BookPlayer imports files you already had. Use that original copy, kept in a folder such as Audiobooks in iCloud Drive. 

### Add them to justRead

Pick a library folder on the Add Books page, or add files with the Files picker, a drag, or Open in justRead. Books on Audiobookshelf? Sign in and download them. [1]

### Try one book in both

Neither app imports the other's position, so open each book at your chapter. Quit and reopen to check it resumes. 

Keep BookPlayer until you have listened for a few hours in justRead.

## What BookPlayer's users say

Five quotes picked by hand: four App Store reviews and one open issue. They are examples, not a count.

> Just import audio book files and listen seamlessly. Holds your place when the apps not running for when files don’t have chapter breaks.
>
> App Store review, 5 stars, version 5.22.0, US, 19 September 2026

> The app is really good and you honestly don’t really need the pro version, unless you want to sync between devices, which is a big deal, but the price is ridiculous.
>
> App Store review, 4 stars, version 5.22.2, US, 13 October 2026

> If you import your own books into this, pray that this app will recognize the chapters directly encoded in its metadata. Most of the time it will not.
>
> App Store review, 1 star, version 5.19.0, US, 10 April 2026

> I place a timer for 30min and listen to my book as I fall asleep. But when my alarm goes off in the morning there is no sound and I have been arriving to work late.
>
> App Store review, 3 stars, version 5.22.0, US, 11 September 2026

> makes it appear that a paid plan is required to sign in
>
> BookPlayer issue 1539, still open on 26 October 2026, opened 15 May 2026

## Questions about BookPlayer and justRead

### What are good BookPlayer alternatives?

Prologue, Bound, Apple Books and ShelfPlayer are listed above. Pick by where your files live. [7][8][9][10][1]

### Is BookPlayer or Bound better?

They differ in cost and in where files come from. BookPlayer is free and takes files from AirDrop, Files, zip files and your own server. Bound costs $4.99 once and imports from Dropbox, OneDrive, Files and a web uploader. [2][8]

### Does BookPlayer have CarPlay?

Yes. Its listing names CarPlay. justRead shows an Audiobooks tab and a Read Aloud tab in CarPlay, with a speed button and a chapter list. [2][1]

### Does BookPlayer have a sleep timer?

Yes, but the options are not stated. justRead offers 5, 10, 15, 30, 45 or 60 minutes, plus End of Chapter. [2][3][1]

### What speeds does BookPlayer offer?

BookPlayer lists adjustable speed, but the range is not stated. justRead plays from 0.75x to 2.0x in 0.05x steps, and one setting carries across books. [2][1]

### Does BookPlayer sync between devices?

Yes, in BookPlayer Pro. justRead syncs your place, bookmarks and listening through iCloud. [2][3][1]

### Does BookPlayer work with Audiobookshelf?

Yes. Its 6.0.1 notes, from 25 Oct 2026, say you can stream from Jellyfin and Audiobookshelf. The README lists downloading from either. [2][3]

### Is BookPlayer free?

Core playback is free, and the code is under the GNU GPL 3.0. Pro is $4.99 a month or $49.99 a year, with cloud sync, stand-alone Apple Watch playback, themes and icons. [2][3]

### Does justRead have an Apple Watch app?

No. justRead runs on iPhone and iPad only. BookPlayer lists a Watch app, and its Pro tier adds stand-alone playback. [1][2][3]

### Which app handles a folder of MP3s better?

Both treat a folder as one book. BookPlayer plays folders in order and can combine MP3s into one volume. justRead groups two or more loose files into one audiobook on import. [3][4][1]

### How do I play an M4B on iPhone?

Add it to an audiobook player. In justRead, use the Files picker, a drag, or Open in justRead. The chapter list stored in the m4b appears in a Chapters sheet. [1][2][3]

### Which audio formats does justRead play?

m4b, m4a, mp3, aac and flac, plus .audiobook and .zab packages. wav, ogg, opus and wma files are not accepted. [1]

### Which iOS version does each app need?

justRead 5.5 needs iOS 18.1 or later. BookPlayer 6.0.1 needs iOS 26.0 or later. Both were read from the US App Store on 26 October 2026. [1][2]

### Can I read ebooks in BookPlayer?

BookPlayer's pages describe an audiobook player and list no ebook reading. justRead opens EPUB, PDF, CBZ and CBR files in the same library as your audiobooks. [2][1]

### Do I need to convert MP3s to M4B?

No, neither app needs it. Both handle a folder of MP3s. Make an m4b only if you want the chapters stored in one file, which justRead reads. [3][4][1]

## Try the player with your own files

justRead plays m4b, m4a, mp3, aac and flac, and reads your ebooks in the same library. The 14-day trial covers the whole app, with no account needed.

## How we checked

justRead.app makes justRead, so we hold this page to a stricter rule than a neutral roundup. Every justRead cell comes from the app's source code at the 5.5 release.

BookPlayer's cells come from its App Store listing, its public repository and its FAQ, all re-read on 26 October 2026. "Not stated by the developer" means we found nothing either way and did not guess.

We have not tested every row on a device, and apps change. The dates tell you how old each fact is.

The quotes are examples, not a count. The reviews come from a sample of 725 written reviews (US, GB and DE) pulled on 23 October 2026.

Of those, 132 give one or two stars and 552 give four or five.

We re-read each quoted review in Apple's public feed on 26 October 2026. The issue is a report, not a confirmed fault, and we have not reproduced it.

## Sources

1. justRead 5.5 app behavior, read from the app's source code at the release build (our own review), accessed 2026-10-26.
2. BookPlayer, App Store listing (US): version 6.0.1, release notes, description, price and in-app purchases (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/bookplayer/id1138219998), accessed 2026-10-26.
3. BookPlayer, project README on GitHub (features, Pro tier, license) (https://github.com/TortugaPower/BookPlayer), accessed 2026-10-26.
4. BookPlayer, project FAQ (importing, combining MP3 files) (https://github.com/TortugaPower/BookPlayer/wiki/FAQ), accessed 2026-10-26.
5. justRead pricing and trial, from the justRead site (https://justread.app/en/#pricing), accessed 2026-10-26.
6. justRead, App Store listing (US): version 5.5, minimum iOS and rating count (https://apps.apple.com/app/apple-store/id6757948605?pt=128143318&ct=home-hero&mt=8), accessed 2026-10-26.
7. Prologue Audiobook Player, App Store listing (US storefront), read on 26 October 2026 (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/prologue-audiobook-player/id1459223267), accessed 2026-10-26.
8. Bound - Audiobook Player, App Store listing (US storefront), read on 26 October 2026 (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/bound-audiobook-player/id1041727137), accessed 2026-10-26.
9. Apple Books, App Store listing (US storefront), read on 26 October 2026 (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/apple-books/id364709193), accessed 2026-10-26.
10. ShelfPlayer, App Store listing (US storefront), read on 26 October 2026 (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/id6475221163), accessed 2026-10-26.
11. BookPlayer, App Store customer reviews (US storefront), read from Apple's public review feed on 26 October 2026 (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/bookplayer/id1138219998?see-all=reviews), accessed 2026-10-26.
12. BookPlayer issue 1539, Sign in with Apple shows paywall before sign-in completes (https://github.com/TortugaPower/BookPlayer/issues/1539), accessed 2026-10-26.
