# justRead vs Audible: rent a catalog or play files you own

Audible is a store you rent from. justRead is a player for files you own. Pick by where your books come from.

Checked 2026-10-26. Canonical page: https://justread.app/en/compare/justread-vs-audible

## Which should you pick?

- **Audible**: you want a huge catalog of new releases, or you listen on an Apple Watch, a Mac or an Alexa speaker.
- **justRead**: you already own DRM-free audiobook files, or run an Audiobookshelf server. It cannot play protected Audible files.

## A store and a player

Audible sells access to a catalog. justRead plays files.

- **Your books come from Audible.** Keep the Audible app. justRead cannot play its protected files.
- **Your books are files you own.** justRead is built for these.
- **You use both.** Keep Audible for its books and justRead for the rest.

## What you keep when you stop paying Audible

What you keep depends on how you got each book.

### Bought with cash or a credit: yours

Audible says books bought with cash or credits stay yours after you cancel. [1]

### Standard picks: locked

You pick one book a month. Cancel and those books lock. Rejoin to get them back. [1]

### Plus Catalog titles: kept while listed

Premium members can add them. You keep them while you stay a member and the book stays listed. [1]

### Unused credits: gone

Plan credits expire after 12 months, or when you cancel. Credits from the App Store and extra credits do not expire. [2]

A DRM-free file is just a file. No membership decides if you can play it.

## justRead and Audible, row by row

Yes or No only when a source says so. "Not stated" means we found nothing.

| What matters | justRead | Audible |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Where titles come from | Your files and servers. Audio files you add, and Audiobookshelf, Grimmory and BookOrbit servers. [3] | Audible only. A membership selection, a credit or a purchase. [1][2] |
| Audio files you already own | Yes. m4b, m4a, mp3, aac and flac, plus .audiobook and .zab packages. [3] | Not stated by the developer. The help article on listening in the app describes the Library and titles from Audible, and no way to add a file. [4] |
| A folder of chapter files as one book | Yes. A folder of two or more loose mp3, m4a, aac, flac or m4b files becomes one audiobook. [3] | Not stated by the developer [4] |
| Your own audiobook server | Yes. Audiobookshelf, Grimmory and BookOrbit. Audiobookshelf books are downloaded first and played from the device. [3] | Not stated by the developer [4][5] |
| Audible's protected files (AAX or AAXC) | No. There is no handling for protected Audible files. [3] | Its own app. Library titles play in the Audible app. The pages read state nothing about file formats or protection. [4][6] |
| Chapter list | Yes. Reads the chapters stored in an m4b and lists each with its length. [3] | Yes. Browse chapters is a listed player action. [4] |
| Playback speed | 0.75x to 2.0x. One setting that carries from book to book. [3] | Adjustable. The narration speed can be changed. The range is not stated. [4][5] |
| Skip buttons | 5 to 60 seconds. Chosen separately for back and forward from 5, 10, 15, 30, 45 or 60 seconds. Defaults are 15 back and 30 forward. [3] | Adjustable. A player setting sets how many seconds you skip forward or back. The options are not stated. [4] |
| Sleep timer | Yes. 5, 10, 15, 30, 45 and 60 minutes, plus End of Chapter. [3] | Yes. A timer, with Shake to extend as a setting. The options are not stated. [4] |
| Bookmarks | Yes. A bookmark shows the chapter title and the time into the chapter. [3] | Yes. The store description lists bookmarking favorite moments. [5] |
| Backs up a little when you resume | Yes. After a pause the player backs up a few seconds, a little more the longer you were away. [3] | Not stated by the developer [4][5] |
| Keeps your place across devices | Yes. Place and bookmarks sync through iCloud. [3] | Yes. The app syncs the listening position across devices, and a setting turns it off. [4] |
| Listening history | Yes. Statistics has a Listening category with week, month, year and all-time ranges. [3] | Listening log. The player lists a way to view your listening log. [4] |
| Lock screen controls | Yes. Cover and chapter time, with next and previous chapter, scrubbing, speed and skip. [3] | Yes. Playback can be resumed from the lock screen controls. [4] |
| CarPlay | Yes. An Audiobooks tab and a Read Aloud tab. [3] | Yes. The store description lists hands-free playback with CarPlay. [5] |
| Car mode on the phone | Yes. A full-screen, always-dark screen with four large tiles: Play and Pause, Skip Back, Skip Forward and Bookmark. [3] | Yes. Automatic Car Mode is a player setting. [4] |
| Apple Watch | No. There is no Apple Watch app. [3] | Yes. The store page and the devices article list it. They ask for watchOS 11.1 and 11.0. [5][7] |
| Siri, Shortcuts and widgets | Yes. A Continue Listening shortcut for Siri and Shortcuts plays the book you heard last, and the Current Book widget has Play and Pause. [3] | Siri. The store page shows Supports Siri. Widgets are not mentioned. [5] |
| Offline listening | Yes. Audiobookshelf audiobooks are downloaded into the library and played from the device. [3] | Yes. Titles are downloaded one at a time, with no bulk download option. [6][5] |
| Devices | iPhone and iPad. justRead runs on iPhone and iPad only. [3] | Many. iPhone, iPad, Mac and Apple Watch on the store page, and Android, Fire TV and Alexa-enabled devices in the help pages. [5][4][1] |
| Opens your ebooks | Yes. EPUB, PDF, CBZ and CBR books import next to audiobooks. [3] | Kindle sync. WhisperSync for Voice switches between a Kindle ebook and an Audible audiobook. No ebook files you add are named. [5] |
| Text follows the narration | EPUB 3 only. An EPUB 3 book that ships synced audio gets a narration transport, and a tap in the text moves the voice there. [3] | Immersion Reading. Text highlights in real time while the narrator reads, and Page Sync jumps the audio to a page. [5] |
| A computer voice reads your ebooks | Yes. Read Aloud with Apple, Kokoro and Supertonic voices. [3] | Not stated by the developer. The pages read describe narrated titles and no computer voice. [5][4] |
| Free to try | 14 days. The trial covers the whole app, then a paywall appears. [3] | 30 days. A 30-day free trial, and a subscription is required after it. [1][5] |
| Price | $4.99 a month. Or $29.99 a year, or $79.99 once. No audiobook feature is charged apart from the rest. [8][3] | $8.99 or $14.95 a month. Standard and Premium on the US membership page after the trial. The app lists the iOS Standard Plan at $9.99 and Premium Monthly at $15.99. [1][5] |
| When the trial or membership ends | Blocking paywall. After the 14-day trial a paywall appears that blocks the app until you subscribe or buy. [3] | It depends. Titles bought with a credit or cash stay yours. Standard selections and Plus Catalog titles lock. [1] |
| Rating in the US store | 4.61. 54 ratings. [9] | 4.85. 5,616,568 ratings. [5] |
| Latest update | 19 Oct 2026. Version 5.5. [9] | 22 Oct 2026. Version 4.80.1. [5] |
| Minimum iOS | iOS 18.1. iPhone and iPad. [9] | iOS 18.1. The store says 18.1 and the devices article says 18.0. [5][7] |

## Audible's prices

US prices on 26 October 2026.

### Web, Standard

$8.99 a month after a 30-day trial. You pick one book a month. [1]

### Web, Premium

$14.95 a month after the trial. One credit a month buys any book. Annual is $149.50 for 12 books or $229.50 for 24. [1]

### In the app

iOS Standard is $9.99, Premium Monthly $15.99, Plus Monthly $7.99 and the iOS Annual plan $159.99. [5]

### Extra credits in the app

$15.99 for one, $39.99 for three and $59.99 for five. [5]

## What justRead plays

justRead has no catalog. Add books from the Files picker, by drag and drop, or with Open in justRead.

- Formats: m4b, m4a, mp3, aac and flac, plus .audiobook and .zab packages. A folder of chapter files becomes one book.
- Servers: sign in to Audiobookshelf, open books from Grimmory and sync progress with BookOrbit. Audiobookshelf books download first. Your place syncs both ways.

## Protected Audible files

justRead cannot play protected Audible files. That means AAX, AAXC and FairPlay audiobooks. We offer no way round it.

Audible has its own routes: its app, the Cloud Player in a browser, and AudibleSync on Windows. We give no steps for removing protection.

- A store that sells DRM-free audiobooks, such as Libro.fm. Check the file type before you buy.
- Public domain books from LibriVox. They are free in the USA. Elsewhere, check the rules.
- Your own recordings, or an Audiobookshelf server you run. See our [Audiobookshelf apps page](https://justread.app/en/compare/audiobookshelf-iphone-apps).

## Where justRead loses to Audible

Six places where Audible is the better choice.

### Audible has the catalog

Its store lists 1M+ titles, plus Originals and a Kids Profile. justRead has no catalog. It has no built-in link to Libby, OverDrive, Hoopla or LibriVox. [5][3]

### Text that follows Audible's voice

Audible has WhisperSync for Voice, Immersion Reading and Page Sync. justRead's covers only EPUB 3 books that ship synced audio. [5][3]

### No Apple Watch app

Audible lists Apple Watch. justRead has no Apple Watch app. [5][7][3]

### Audible runs on more devices

It lists Android, Fire TV, Alexa devices and Mac. justRead is for iPhone and iPad. [4][5][1][3]

### Your protected Audible titles

justRead cannot play titles you bought from Audible. It has no handling for protected files. [3]

### A bigger public record

Audible shows 4.85 from 5,616,568 US ratings. justRead shows 4.61 from 54. [5][9]

## Where justRead is the better fit

Four places where justRead suits you better.

### It plays files you own

m4b, m4a, mp3, aac and flac, one file or a folder. Audible's help pages show no way to add your own. [3][4]

### It connects to your server

Audiobookshelf, Grimmory and BookOrbit. Audible's pages describe no link to a server you run. [3][4][5]

### Books, comics and audiobooks together

EPUB, PDF, CBZ and CBR sit next to your audiobooks. Read Aloud reads an ebook in Apple, Kokoro and Supertonic voices. [3][5]

### You can buy it once

After the 14-day trial you can pay $4.99 a month, $29.99 a year, or $79.99 once. No audiobook feature costs extra. [8][3]

Most people do not have to choose. Use each app for its own books. See the [audiobook player page](https://justread.app/en/audiobook-player).

## Other places to get audiobooks

Each line comes from the vendor's own page. None is a ranking.

### Libro.fm

Credits never expire. Downloads are DRM-free, but the file type is not stated. [10]

### Chirp

Sells books one at a time, with no plan. You keep them. [11]

### Libby

Borrow books free with a library card. justRead has no built-in link to Libby. [12][3]

### Spotify

Some Premium plans include audiobook time, 15 hours a month in the US. [13][14][15]

### Everand

Audiobooks and ebooks in one subscription, with one, three or five books a month. [16]

## How to move from renting to owning

Nothing here deletes anything.

### List your titles by how you got them

Cash or credit buys are yours to keep. Standard picks and Plus Catalog titles are not. [1]

### Check when your credits expire

Open Profile, Settings, Membership, then Details in the Audible app. [2]

### Find DRM-free replacements

Check the file type against justRead's list first. LibriVox files are public domain in the USA. Elsewhere, check the rules. [10][17][3]

### Listen to one file for ten minutes

Add it to justRead, lock the screen and try the controls. [3]

Keep Audible until you have checked every book you care about.

## What Audible and its listeners say

Two lines in Audible's words, then three listener comments. They are examples, not a survey.

> Any audiobooks you've purchased with cash or credits are yours to keep even after you cancel your membership. You lose access to titles from the Plus Catalog and to any audiobook selections you have made as an Audible Standard member.
>
> Audible, membership plans page, read 26 October 2026

> Credits expire 12 months after they are issued, or upon membership cancellation. Only credits issued through the App Store or Google Play don't expire.
>
> Audible Help, Learn about credits, read 26 October 2026

> I was skeptical about listening to books but I absolutely LOVE every second of the books I’ve listened to. Gives me the chance to listen and get ready for work and drive to work.
>
> App Store review, 5 stars, version 4.79, US, 7 October 2026

> I don’t understand why I’m paying for a premium plus membership when I only get one credit a month and still have to pay to listen to other books.
>
> App Store review, 2 stars, version 4.79.2, US, 12 October 2026

> I tried Audible on iOS for a while and found the UX too annoying. I can't remember specifics but in general I remember it was annoying to use with AirPods while using my phone for other things.
>
> Hacker News commenter, on a thread about audiobooks, 17 February 2022

## Questions about Audible and justRead

### Can justRead play Audible audiobooks?

Not straight from Audible. justRead has no handling for protected AAX or AAXC files. It plays DRM-free m4b, m4a, mp3, aac and flac files that you add. [3]

### Do I keep Audible books if I cancel?

That changes by book. Books bought with cash or credits stay yours. Standard picks and Plus Catalog titles lock when you cancel. [1]

### Do Audible credits expire?

Yes. Plan credits expire 12 months after issue, or when you cancel. Credits from the App Store, and extra credits bought in the iOS app, do not expire. [2]

### How much does Audible cost?

On Audible's US page, Standard is $8.99 a month and Premium is $14.95, after a 30-day trial. The app lists similar plans at other prices, such as $9.99 for iOS Standard. [1][5]

### Can Audible play files from other stores?

The pages we read do not say. Audible's help article describes the Library and no way to add a file. justRead takes files from the Files picker. [4][3]

### Does Audible work on Apple Watch alone?

Yes, with conditions. Audible's help page says you can leave your phone at home and stream or download to the watch. You need Bluetooth headphones, and data to stream. justRead has no Apple Watch app. [20][7][5][3]

### Can I buy Audible books without a membership?

Yes. Anyone with an Amazon account can buy with a card or coupon. Only members can spend plan credits. A book bought with cash is yours. It is still protected, so justRead cannot play it. [21][1][3]

### Can I listen to Audible on a computer?

Yes. The Cloud Player works in any supported browser. AudibleSync on Windows 10 or 11 downloads books. They play only on a compatible MP3 player or accessibility device. [6][22]

### How is Libro.fm different from Audible?

Libro.fm's credits never expire, and its downloads are DRM-free for any device. Audible's plan credits expire after 12 months or when you cancel. Its store lists 1M+ titles. [10][2][5]

### Do Humble Bundle audiobooks play elsewhere?

Often yes, once you have the files. Humble says its audiobooks are MP3 files. Some BookFunnel authors allow DRM-free MP3 downloads too. Tap a ZIP in Files to unpack it, and justRead plays the folder as one book. [23][24][25][3]

### Does justRead connect to Libby or Hoopla?

No. justRead has no built-in link to Libby, OverDrive, Hoopla or LibriVox. It plays files you add or download from Audiobookshelf. [3]

### Any Audible alternative with no subscription?

Yes, three. Chirp sells books you keep, with no plan. Libby lends them free with a card. justRead is a one-time $79.99 purchase after a 14-day trial. It plays files you already own, not Audible's catalog. [11][12][8][3]

### Does justRead have text that follows narration?

Only for EPUB 3 books that ship synced audio. A tap in the text moves the voice there. Audible lists Immersion Reading for its own books. [3][5]

## Try your own audiobook files

Add a DRM-free m4b or a folder of mp3 files and listen with the screen locked. The 14-day trial covers the whole app.

## How we checked

justRead.app makes justRead, so we hold this page to a stricter rule than a neutral roundup. Every justRead cell comes from the app's source code at the 5.5 release.

Audible's cells come from its US App Store listing, its membership page and its help pages, all re-read on 26 October 2026. Three help pages are built by script, so we read them in a browser.

"Not stated by the developer" means we found nothing either way and did not guess. A cell describes what the developer says, not how the app behaves for you.

We did not run Audible against files from outside its store, and we took no view on protection. We did not test the other services on this page. Their lines come from each vendor's own page, read the same day.

Audible's prices differ between its web page and the App Store, and both change.

The quotes are examples, not a survey. The reviews come from a sample of 800 written reviews (US, GB and DE) pulled on 23 October 2026.

Of those, 315 give one or two stars and 408 give four or five, and many rate the book rather than the app. We re-read each quoted review in Apple's feed on 26 October 2026. The forum comment is older.

## Sources

1. Audible, US membership plans page (plans, trial, what you keep, changing plans) (https://www.audible.com/ep/memberbenefits), accessed 2026-10-26.
2. Audible Help, Learn about credits (expiry, extra credits, gifting) (https://help.audible.com/s/article/learn-about-credits?language=en_US), accessed 2026-10-26.
3. justRead 5.5 app behavior, read from the app's source code at the release build (our own review), accessed 2026-10-26.
4. Audible Help, Listen in the app (player settings, sync, lock screen, chapters) (https://help.audible.com/s/article/listen-in-the-app?language=en_US), accessed 2026-10-26.
5. Audible, App Store listing (US): version 4.80.1, description, devices, price and in-app purchases (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/audible-audiobooks-podcasts/id379693831), accessed 2026-10-26.
6. Audible Help, Download titles (downloads, no bulk download, computer route) (https://help.audible.com/s/article/download-titles), accessed 2026-10-26.
7. Audible Help, Devices compatible with Audible (iOS, Mac and watchOS requirements) (https://help.audible.com/s/article/devices-compatible-with-audible?language=en_US), accessed 2026-10-26.
8. justRead pricing and trial, from the justRead site (https://justread.app/en/#pricing), accessed 2026-10-26.
9. justRead, App Store listing (US): version 5.5, minimum iOS, rating count and last update (https://apps.apple.com/app/apple-store/id6757948605?pt=128143318&ct=home-hero&mt=8), accessed 2026-10-26.
10. Libro.fm, membership page (DRM-free downloads, credits that do not expire) (https://libro.fm/membership), accessed 2026-10-26.
11. Chirp Audiobooks, App Store listing (US storefront), read on 26 October 2026 (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/chirp-audiobooks/id1438652819), accessed 2026-10-26.
12. Libby Help, Getting started with Libby (a library card, titles chosen by each library, offline downloads over Wi-Fi) (https://help.libbyapp.com/en-us/6103.htm), accessed 2026-10-26.
13. Spotify Support, Audiobooks in Premium plans (which plans include listening time) (https://support.spotify.com/us/article/audiobooks-premium-plans/), accessed 2026-10-26.
14. Spotify, US audiobooks page (monthly hours on Premium, top-ups) (https://www.spotify.com/us/audiobooks/), accessed 2026-10-26.
15. Spotify Support, Unlock audiobooks (one-time payment, web payment, offline downloads) (https://support.spotify.com/us/article/audiobooks-unlock/), accessed 2026-10-26.
16. Everand: Audiobooks & Ebooks, App Store listing (US storefront), read on 26 October 2026 (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/everand-audiobooks-ebooks/id542557212), accessed 2026-10-26.
17. LibriVox, About listening to LibriVox (free and public domain in the USA) (https://librivox.org/pages/about-listening-to-librivox/), accessed 2026-10-26.
18. Audible: Audiobooks & Podcasts, App Store customer reviews (US storefront), read from Apple's public review feed on 26 October 2026 (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/audible-audiobooks-podcasts/id379693831?see-all=reviews), accessed 2026-10-26.
19. Hacker News, Audiblegate (a comment of 17 February 2022) (https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=30345171), accessed 2026-10-26.
20. Audible Help, Listen with Apple Watch (leave the phone at home, headphones, data, watchOS) (https://help.audible.com/s/article/listen-with-apple-watch?language=en_US), accessed 2026-10-26.
21. Audible Help, Buy an audiobook (app, site and Amazon; credit card or coupon; credits are for members) (https://help.audible.com/s/article/buy-an-audiobook?language=en_US), accessed 2026-10-26.
22. Audible Help, Listen with AudibleSync (Windows app and what its downloads play on) (https://help.audible.com/s/article/listen-with-audiblesync), accessed 2026-10-26.
23. Humble Bundle Support, Humble Audiobook Bundles (MP3 format, loads like any audio file) (https://support.humblebundle.com/hc/en-us/articles/203628594-Humble-Audiobook-Bundles), accessed 2026-10-26.
24. BookFunnel Author Help, How does BookFunnel deliver audiobooks (app listening, optional DRM-free MP3 downloads from my.bookfunnel.com) (https://authors.bookfunnel.com/help/how-does-bookfunnel-deliver-audiobooks/), accessed 2026-10-26.
25. Apple Support, Create or open ZIP files on your iPhone (tapping a ZIP in Files creates a folder with the files) (https://support.apple.com/en-us/102532), accessed 2026-10-26.
